Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

TA community is meeting in Bonn in November

TA’s contribution to solving the "grand challenges" is the topic of the 7th conference of the Network Technology Assessment (NTA). The new concept of the journal Technology Assessment – Theory and Practice (TATuP) is also presented at the event.
NTA Logo

Challenges like the ageing of society and its vulnerability to security and climate risks are only some of the many problems with far-reaching consequences all over the world. Therefore it is not surprising that "grand challenges" became the key aspect of public research planning and funding in Europe. As a consequence of this research policy agenda, high expectations are associated with keywords like big data, nanotechnology, and bioeconomy. So these and similar topics are also subject of technology reflexion and innovation research – which is reason enough for the seventh NTA conference (NTA7) to have a closer look at the topic.

The conference "Mastering ‘grand challenges’ – the contribution of technology assessment", which is organized by the EA European Academy of Technology and Innovation Assessment and supported by ITAS, takes place on 16 to 18 November 2016 in Bonn. Registration is now open.

The conference starts on Wednesday (16.11.) with a ceremony celebrating the 20th anniversary of the EA European Academy. Another highlight is the panel discussion "Grand challenges – also a challenge for scientific policy advice?" which will be attended, among others, by the chairwoman of the Committee for Education, Research, and Technology Assessment of the German Bundestag, Patricia Lips.

TATuP: Relaunch and entrenchment within NTA

The editorial team of "Technology Assessment – Theory and Practice" (TATuP) which is located at ITAS presents its concept for the relaunch of the journal on Friday (18.11.) at 1:30 p.m. The scientific journal for the TA community in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland is considerably upgraded, starting with the summer 2017 edition. This includes, among other features, an evaluation procedure, a more modern design, and a technically more sophisticated online presence. In connection with the relaunch, TATuP will also become an open access journal. By appointing an editing committee and a scientific advisory board with members of the NTA, the journal is linked even stronger to the NTA.

Right before the NTA7, on Wednesday, 16 November 2016 from 10:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., the fifth openTA workshop is also be held at the Universitätsclub Bonn. open TA is the specialist portal of the Netzwerk TA which is established by ITAS and FIZ Karlsruhe and funded by the DFG. Registration for the workshop is also possible at the conference website. (26.09.2016)

Further links:

  • Conference website with information on the program and the venue of NTA7
  • Information on the Netzwerk Technikfolgenabschätzung (NTA) at openTA
  • Web page of the journal “Technology Assessment – Theory and Practice” (TATuP)

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

TA-Community trifft sich im November in Bonn

Der Beitrag der TA zur Lösung der „Grand Challenges“ ist Thema der 7. Konferenz des Netzwerks Technikfolgenabschätzung (NTA). Bei der Veranstaltung wird das neue Konzept der Zeitschrift Technikfolgenabschätzung – Theorie und Praxis (TATuP) präsentiert.
NTA Logo

Herausforderungen wie das Altern der Gesellschaft und ihre Anfälligkeit für Sicherheits- und Klimarisiken sind nur einige von vielen Problemen großer Tragweite, die uns weltweit betreffen. Es wundert daher nicht, dass „Grand Challenges“ im europäischen Raum zum Leitmotiv öffentlicher Forschungsplanung und -förderung geworden sind. In Folge dieser forschungspolitischen Agenda werden an Stichworte wie Big Data, Nanotechnologie und Bioökonomie große Erwartungen geknüpft. Diese und ähnliche Themen werden somit auch zum Gegenstand von Technikreflexion und Innovationsforschung – und sind damit Anlass für die siebte NTA-Konferenz (NTA7), das Thema näher zu untersuchen.

Die von der EA European Academy of Technology and Innovation Assessment organisierte und vom ITAS unterstützte Konferenz „,Grand Challenges‘ meistern – der Beitrag der Technikfolgenabschätzung“ findet vom 16. bis 18. November 2016 in Bonn statt. Eine Anmeldung ist ab sofort möglich.

Zum Auftakt der Tagung am Mittwoch (16.11.) findet ein Festakt zum 20-Jährigen Bestehen der EA European Academy statt. Einen weiteren Höhepunkt markiert am Donnerstag (17.11.) die Podiumsdiskussion „Grand Challenges – Herausforderung auch für die wissenschaftliche Politikberatung?“, an der sich unter anderem die Vorsitzende des Ausschusses für Bildung, Forschung und Technikfolgenabschätzung des Deutschen Bundestags, Patricia Lips, beteiligt.

TATuP: Relaunch und Verankerung im NTA

Die am ITAS angesiedelte Redaktion von „Technikfolgenabschätzung – Theorie und Praxis“ (TATuP) präsentiert am Freitag (18.11.) um 13:30 Uhr ihr Konzept für einen Relaunch der Zeitschrift. Im Sommer 2017 erscheint das wissenschaftliche Fachblatt für die TA-Community in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz in einer deutlich aufgewerteten Form. Diese soll sich unter anderem in einem Begutachtungsverfahren, einer grafischen Modernisierung und einer technisch anspruchsvollen Onlinepräsenz ausdrücken. TATuP wird mit dem Relaunch zudem als Open Access-Zeitschrift ausgewiesen. Über die Berufung eines Herausgebergremiums und eines wissenschaftlichen Beirats mit Mitgliedern des NTA, wird die Zeitschrift noch enger mit dem NTA verbunden.

Im Vorfeld der NTA7, am Mittwoch, 16. November von 2016 von 10:30-13:00 Uhr findet, ebenfalls im Universitätsclub Bonn der fünfte openTA-Workshop statt. openTA ist das Fachportal des Netzwerks TA und wird vom ITAS und dem FIZ Karlsruhe mit einer Förderung der DFG aufgebaut. Die Anmeldung für den Workshop erfolgt über die Konferenzhomepage. (26.09.2016)

Weiterführende Links:

  • Konferenzhomepage mit Informationen zu Programm und Tagungsort der NTA7
  • Informationen zum Netzwerk Technikfolgenabschätzung (NTA) auf openTA
  • Webauftritt Zeitschrift „Technikfolgenabschätzung – Theorie und Praxis“ (TATuP)