Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | KIT

Final Storage Commission hands over final report

The members of the commission on the "Storage of Highly Radioactive Waste Material" handed over their recommendations to the president of the German Bundestag on 5 July 2016. Armin Grunwald, head of ITAS, played a significant role in their preparation.
Endlagerkommission mit Armin Grunwald übergibt Abschlussbericht
Handing over of the final report to the president of the German Bundestag, Norbert Lammert (Picture: Deutscher Bundestag / Achim Melde)

Two years ago, the so-called Final Storage Commission appointed by the Bundestag made a new start on the search for a final storage site for highly radioactive waste material. 33 representatives in all from politics, society, and science were involved, among them the expert in technology assessment and head of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis, Armin Grunwald.

Following the official handing over of the final report to the president of the German Bundestag, Norbert Lammert, on 5 July 2016, Grunwald positively sums up the intensive work of the commission: Despite one dissenting vote in the final vote, the commission completely fulfilled its mandate to forge a societal consensus on both a procedure and criteria for the search for a final storage for highly radioactive waste in Germany. "There are no obstacles left for the Bundestag to turn our recommendations into a law over the next months and officially start the search for a site."

As co-chairman of the work group "Societal and Technical-scientific Decision Criteria and Criteria for Error Corrections" Armin Grunwald was significantly involved in the process. His work group’s task was to envision the site selection procedure until the sealing of the final disposal mine, which means a period of approximately 100 years, and assess it based on plausibility considerations. One of the most important aspects was to determine the geoscientific planning criteria which navigate the whole process towards a site with the best possible safety standards.

Thinking nuclear energy "through to the end”

On the whole, the commission complied with one of the key objectives of technology assessment during its two years of work: "If we implement new technologies and release them into society, include them in products or services, we are obliged to think things through to the end. The commission did this subsequently for nuclear energy in Germany", Grunwald sums up.

This video interview with Armin Grunwald provides assessments of the commission’s work, of its final report, and of the next steps towards a final storage site.

(05.07.2016)

Further information:

  • Website of the Final Storage Commission
  • Staff page Armin Grunwald
  • Press release of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Endlagerkommission übergibt Abschlussbericht

Die Mitglieder der Kommission zur „Lagerung hoch radioaktiver Abfallstoffe“ haben am Dienstag, 5. Juli 2016, ihre Empfehlungen dem Bundestagspräsidenten übergeben. Armin Grunwald, Leiter des ITAS, war an maßgeblicher Stelle an der Arbeit beteiligt.
Endlagerkommission mit Armin Grunwald übergibt Abschlussbericht
Übergabe des Abschlussberichts an Bundestagspräsident, Norbert Lammert. (Bild: Deutscher Bundestag / Achim Melde)

Vor zwei Jahren begann mit der vom Bundestag eingesetzten sogenannten Endlager-Kommission ein Neustart bei der Suche nach einem Endlager für hochradioaktive Abfallstoffe. Beteiligt waren insgesamt 33 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter aus Politik, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft, unter ihnen der Experte für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Leiter des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse Armin Grunwald.

Nach der offiziellen Übergabe des Abschlussberichts an Bundestagspräsident Norbert Lammert am Dienstag, 5 Juli 2016 zieht Grunwald ein positives Fazit der intensiven Kommissionsarbeit: Trotz einer Gegenstimme bei der Schlussabstimmung habe die Kommission ihren Auftrag zu hundert Prozent erfüllt, einen gesellschaftlichen Konsens über ein Verfahren und Kriterien für die Suche nach einem Endlager für hochradioaktive Abfallstoffe in Deutschland herzustellen. „Es steht jetzt nichts entgegen, dass der Bundestag aus unseren Empfehlungen in den nächsten Monaten ein Gesetz macht und die Standortsuche damit offiziell eröffnet.“

Als Kovorsitzender der Arbeitsgruppe „Gesellschaftliche und technisch-wissenschaftliche Entscheidungskriterien sowie Kriterien für Fehlerkorrekturen“ hatte Armin Grunwald daran selbst maßgeblichen Anteil. Die Aufgabe seiner Arbeitsgruppe war es, sich das Standortauswahlverfahren bis zum Verschluss eines Endlagerbergwerks, also einen Zeitraum von rund 100 Jahren, vorzustellen und mit Plausibilitätsüberlegungen zu überprüfen. Eine besondere Rolle habe es dabei gespielt die geowissenschaftlichen Planungskriterien festzulegen, die das Verfahren in Richtung auf einen Standort mit der bestmöglichen Sicherheit navigieren.

Kernenergie „bis zum Ende denken“

Insgesamt habe die Kommission mit ihrer zweijährigen Arbeit ein zentrales Anliegen der Technikfolgenabschätzung verwirklicht: „Wenn wir neue Technologien implementieren und in die Gesellschaft entlassen, sie in Produkte oder Dienstleistungen aufnehmen, dann sind wir verpflichtet bis zum Ende zu denken. Mit der Kommission haben wir dies für die Kernenergie in Deutschland nachgeholt“, resümiert Grunwald.

Einschätzungen zur Arbeit der Kommission, zu ihrem Abschlussbericht und den weiteren Schritten hin zu einem Endlager bietet dieses Videointerview mit Armin Grunwald.

YouTube: Prof. Armin Grunwald zur Endlagerkommission

(05.07.2016)

Weiterführende Informationen:

  • Website der Endlagerkommission
  • Mitarbeiterseite von Armin Grunwald
  • Presseinformation des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie