Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New publication on e-democracy in Europe

The book "Electronic Democracy in Europe" edited by ITAS jointly with Fraunhofer ISI and ITA Vienna explores the current state and the perspectives of web-based political communication at the European level.
Electronic Democracy in Europe

The book is based on a study conducted on behalf of the European Parliament and systematically addresses the intersection of e-democracy and European politics. This volume, edited by Ralf Lindner (Fraunhofer ISI), Georg Aichholzer (ITA Vienna) and Leonhard Hennen (ITAS), contributes to an improved understanding of the role that new media technologies play in European politics. The potential impact of Internet-based political participation processes on modern-day representative democracy in Europe is also analyzed.

A unique, holistic approach is taken to examine e-democracy’s current state and perspectives in Europe in three, partially overlapping and interlocking fields: e-public, e-participation and e-voting. Thus the authors provide theory-inspired reflections on e-democracy’s contribution to the formation of a transnational European public sphere. They also offer empirical analyses of contemporary e-participation phenomena such as the European Citizens’ Initiative or e-voting practices in Estonia. Based on the presented findings, the concluding chapter combines a prospective outlook with recommendations for future paths towards the meaningful integration of e-democracy in European politics and governance. (30.05.2016)

Bibliographic data:

Ralf Lindner, Georg Aichholzer and Leonhard Hennen (Eds.)
Electronic Democracy in Europe. Prospects and Challenges of E-Publics, E-Participation and E-Voting. Heidelberg: Springer International Publishing 2016.
Further information by the publisher

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Neue Publikation zu E-Demokratie in Europa

Das vom ITAS gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer ISI und dem ITA Wien herausgegebene Buch „Electronic Democracy in Europe“ analysiert den Stand und die Perspektiven der Nutzung des Internets für die politische Kommunikation auf europäischer Ebene.
Electronic Democracy in Europe

Basierend auf einer Studie im Auftrag des Europäischen Parlaments bietet das Buch eine systematische Untersuchung des Zusammenhangs von E-Demokratie und Europäischer Politik. Der von Ralf Lindner (Fraunhofer ISI), Georg Aichholzer (ITA Wien) und Leonhard Hennen (ITAS) herausgegebene Sammelband trägt damit zu einem verbesserten Verständnis der Rolle neuer Medien im Rahmen europäischer Politik bei. Auch die möglichen Effekte internetbasierter politischer Partizipation im modernen repräsentativen demokratischen System werden untersucht.

In einem umfassenden Ansatz analysiert der Band Stand und Perspektiven von „elektronischer Demokratie“ in Europa für die drei sich teilweise überschneidende Felder „e-public“, „e-participation“ und „e-voting“. Die Autoren liefern damit eine theoretisch inspirierte Auseinandersetzung mit dem möglichen Beitrag von E-Demokratie zur Schaffung einer transnationalen europäischen politischen Öffentlichkeit. Gleichzeitig bieten sie eine empirisch gestützte Analyse aktueller Ansätze internet-basierter politischer Partizipation, wie etwa die Europäische Bürgerinitiative oder die demokratischen Wahlen via Internet in Estland. Das Schlusskapitel verbindet eine Reflexion der Perspektiven von E-Demokratie mit Empfehlungen für ihre zukünftige Integration in Politikformulierung und Entscheidungsprozesse auf EU-Ebene. (30.05.2016)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Ralf Lindner, Georg Aichholzer und Leonhard Hennen (Hrsg.)
Electronic Democracy in Europe. Prospects and Challenges of E-Publics, E-Participation and E-Voting. Heidelberg: Springer International Publishing 2016.
Informationen des Verlags