Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Energy transition: Recommendations for mobility and heat

Interdisciplinary teams of the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS have examined how electromobility and a lower energy demand of buildings can contribute to a sustainable energy system. Two policy briefs are addressed to policy makers.
ENERGY-TRANS Policy Brief Elektromobilität
Policy Brief 01/2016
ENERGY-TRANS Policy Brief Wärmewende
Policy Brief 01/2016

Not only the electricity sector, but also – and above all – the fields of mobility and heat are decisive factors on the way towards a sustainable and climate-friendly energy system that is currently pursued. Scientists from the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS which is coordinated by ITAS have summarized the important research results on these topics and formulated recommendations for policy makers.

Electromobility

The transport sector is contributing considerably to the energy consumption in Germany. Therefore it is often discussed that the energy transition has to be accompanied by a transformation of the transport sector. Despite ambitious political goals (1 million vehicles by 2020), the market share of electric cars is extremely small in Germany – in contrast to Norway, where electromobility is booming right now.

What we can learn from the Scandinavian model is analyzed by Jens Schippl from ITAS and his colleagues from the Universities of Magdeburg and Trondheim. Their conclusion: Many concerns regarding electric cars turn out to be of small relevance in actual use. According to the authors, "the discourse on e-mobility in Germany is full of impediments, while electromobility in Norway is suitable for daily use and very positively assessed by most of the users". The policy brief recommends, among others, a fixed-term subsidy to enable the so-called early adopters to buy and use electric vehicles.

Energy-oriented refurbishment

A main objective of the energy transition is a climate-neutral building stock by 2050. However, various measures in this field have not taken the full desired effect so far. Together with colleagues at the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the University of Magdeburg, and the German aeronautics and space research center, ITAS scientists Jens Buchgeister and Max Kleemann put the focus of their analysis on the behavior and the involvement of relevant actors.

One of their conclusions is that savings potentials are usually overrated, because often a comprehensive refurbishment is assumed while most house owners so far plan and realize energy-relevant measures only step by step. Therefore a comprehensive, foresighted, and individual planning of the refurbishment of buildings has to be encouraged to avoid partial refurbishments which often do not make sense in the long term. This has to be taken into account by support programs and must also include the social diffusion process of energy-oriented refurbishments. Otherwise the growing lack of trust regarding the actual effects of energy-related measures, such as real savings potentials, danger of mold, or fire protection, impedes the willingness to realize them. To tackle the problem, the authors recommend, for example, a better quality management such as the further education of craftspeople and the monitoring by independent building inspectors during the construction phase. (04.05.2016)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Energiewende: Empfehlungen für Mobilität und Wärme

Interdisziplinäre Teams der Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS haben untersucht, wie Elektromobilität und ein geringerer Energiebedarf bei Gebäuden zu einem nachhaltigen Energiesystem beitragen können. Mit zwei Policy Briefs wenden sie sich an die Politik.
ENERGY-TRANS Policy Brief Elektromobilität
Policy Brief 01/2016
ENERGY-TRANS Policy Brief Wärmewende
Policy Brief 02/2016

Neben dem Stromsektor sind vor allem die Bereiche Mobilität und Wärme entscheidend, ob  der eingeschlagene Weg zu einem nachhaltigen und klimafreundlichen Energiesystem erreicht werden kann. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der vom ITAS koordinierten Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS haben zu diesen Themen wichtige Forschungsergebnisse zusammengefasst und Empfehlungen für die Politik formuliert.

Elektromobilität

Der Verkehrssektor trägt erheblich zum Endenergieverbrauch in Deutschland bei. Es wird vielfach diskutiert, dass die Energiewende von einer Verkehrswende begleitet werden muss. Trotz ambitionierter politischer Ziele (1. Mio. Fahrzeuge bis 2020) ist in Deutschland die Marktverbreitung von Elektroautos jedoch verschwindend gering – ganz im Gegensatz zu Norwegen, wo die Elektromobilität derzeit einen Boom erlebt.

Was wir von dem skandinavischen Vorbild lernen können, untersuchte Jens Schippl vom ITAS zusammen mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen von den Universitäten in Magdeburg und Trondheim. Ihr Ergebnis: Viele Bedenken gegenüber Elektroautos erweisen sich bei der tatsächlichen Nutzung als wenig relevant  „In Deutschland wird in Bezug auf E-Mobilität oft ein Hindernisdiskurs geführt. Dabei ist die Elektromobilität in Norwegen alltagstauglich und wird von den meisten Nutzern sehr positiv bewertet“, schreiben die Autoren. Der Policy Brief empfiehlt unter anderem eine zeitlich befristete Förderung, die es den Erstnutzern, den sogenannten Early Adopters, erleichtert, E-Fahrzeuge anzuschaffen und zu nutzen.

Energetische Sanierungen

Ein zentrales Ziel der Energiewende ist ein klimaneutraler Gebäudebestand bis 2050. Zahlreiche Maßnahmen auf dem Gebiet konnten aber bisher nicht die gewünschte Wirkung entfalten. Jens Buchgeister und Max Kleemann vom ITAS legten gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen vom Forschungszentrum Jülich, der Universität Magdeburg und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt den Fokus ihrer Analyse auf das Verhalten und die Einbindung relevanter Akteure.

Sie kommen unter anderem zu dem Ergebnis, dass Einsparpotenziale oftmals überschätzt werden, weil in der Regel von Vollsanierungen ausgegangen wird, Hauseigentümer in der Praxis energetische Maßnahmen aber bisher meist nur schrittweise planen und umsetzen. Um Teilsanierungen, die bei einer langfristigen Gesamtbetrachtung, nicht sinnvoll sind, zu vermeiden, ist eine umfassende, vorausschauende und individuelle Planung für die Sanierung von Gebäuden zu fördern. Dies müssten Förderangebote genauso berücksichtigen wie den sozialen Diffusionsprozess energetischer Sanierungen. Denn der wachsende Vertrauensmangel in Bezug auf die tatsächlichen Effekte der energetischen Sanierungsmaßnahmen, etwa bei realen Einsparpotenzialen, Schimmelgefahr oder dem Brandschutz hemmt die Bereitschaft diese durchzuführen. Um dem Problem zu begegnen, empfehlen die Autoren beispielsweise ein besseres Qualitätsmanagement bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Handwerkern und baubegleitende Kontrollen durch unabhängige Baugutachter. (04.05.2016)

Weitere Informationen: