Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Kopernikus program: ITAS is part of all four consortia

With the "largest research initiative on the energy transition", the BMBF supports research on technological and economic solutions for the energy supply of the future. In early April, Federal Minister Wanka announced the successful projects.
Themenfelder Forschungsprogramm Kopernikus
Foto (b. l.): vladimir salman/shutterstock.com

In the next ten years, science, business and civil society are to work hand in hand to develop new solutions for the transformation of the energy system. The research program Kopernikus of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supports them in this. The aim is to develop new energy concepts by 2025 which can be applied on an industrial scale – and which are also socially acceptable. The BMBF will provide up to 400 million euros for the research initiative.

Around 1000 institutions from science and industry had applied in 41 project proposals for participation in Kopernikus. An international advisory board chose four of the consortia with a total of 230 participating institutions, which are expected to start their work this year. The decision was announced in early April by the Federal Research Minister Johanna Wanka. ITAS participates in all four projects and is also represented in the board of the Consortium for System Integration by the institute’s director Armin Grunwald.

Four successful project consortia

In the field of "New network structures", the project Ensure, headed by KIT President Holger Hanselka, managed to prevail. Together with 20 other partners, ITAS will examine ways of reducing the costs of grid conversion by a combination of centralized and decentralized power generation.

In the field of "Power-to-X", researchers will work on the conditions for large-scale storage of fluctuating renewable energy in the form of chemicals, gaseous energy sources and fuels. ITAS will contribute its experience in life-cycle sustainability assessment of new energy technologies.

The SynErgie project will, for the first time, demonstrate how in Germany energy-intensive production processes can be adapted to a fluctuating power supply to save energy costs and reduce CO2 emissions. In the field of "Industrial processes", ITAS will examine the social impact of flexible adaptation of industrial systems to a fluctuating power supply. In particular, it aims to investigate the impact on production processes and thus on companies’ work organization.

In the field of "System integration", the ENavi project considers the energy transition as a societal change process. The partners aim to drive forward the energy transition with the greatest possible involvement of all stakeholders and to assess the market potential of different technologies. ITAS will contribute, in particular, to the development of roadmaps including scenario development, to sustainability assessment, and to the topic of mobility transition. (27.04.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Kopernikus-Programm: ITAS an allen vier Konsortien beteiligt

Mit der „größten Forschungsinitiative zur Energiewende“ fördert das BMBF die Arbeit an technologischen und wirtschaftlichen Lösungen für die Energieversorgung der Zukunft. Anfang April gab Bundesministerin Wanka die erfolgreichen Projekte bekannt.
Themenfelder Forschungsprogramm Kopernikus
Foto (l. u.): vladimir salman/shutterstock.com

Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft sollen in den kommenden zehn Jahren Hand in Hand an neuen Lösungen für den Umbau des Energiesystems arbeiten. Das Forschungsprogramm Kopernikus vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) fördert sie dabei. Ziel ist es, bis 2025 neue Energiekonzepte auf den Weg zu bringen, die im großtechnischen Maßstab angewendet werden können – und die auch gesellschaftlich mitgetragen werden. Das BMBF will für die Forschungsinitiative insgesamt bis zu 400 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stellen.

Rund 1000 Institutionen aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft hatten sich in 41 Projektvorschlägen um die Teilnahme an Kopernikus beworben. Ein internationaler Beirat wählte davon vier Konsortien mit insgesamt 230 beteiligten Institutionen aus, die noch in diesem Jahr mit ihrer Arbeit beginnen sollen. Die Entscheidung wurde Anfang April von der Bundesforschungsministerin Johanna Wanka bekannt gegeben. Das ITAS ist in allen vier Projekten als Partner beteiligt und zudem durch Institutsleiter Armin Grunwald im Direktorium des Konsortiums zur Systemintegration vertreten.

Vier erfolgreiche Projekt-Konsortien

Im Themenfeld „Neue Netzstrukturen“ konnte sich das Projekt Ensure unter der Leitung des KIT-Präsidenten Holger Hanselka durchsetzen. Zusammen mit 20 weiteren Partnern untersucht das ITAS, wie durch eine Kombination von dezentral und zentral erzeugtem Strom die Kosten für den Netzumbau verringert werden könnten.

An den großtechnischen Voraussetzungen, das fluktuierende Angebot an erneuerbaren Energien in Form von chemischen Grundstoffen, gasförmigen Energieträgern und Kraftstoffen zu speichern, arbeiten die Forscherinnen und Forscher im Themenfeld „Power-to-X“. Das ITAS bringt seine Erfahrungen im Bereich der lebenszyklusbasierten Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung neuer Energietechnologien ein.

Das Projekt SynErgie will erstmals in Deutschland demonstrieren, wie energieintensive Produktionsprozesse an eine schwankende Energieversorgung angepasst werden können, um Energiekosten zu sparen und CO2-Emissionen zu verringern. Das ITAS wird sich im Themenfeld „Industrieprozesse“ mit den sozialen Auswirkungen der flexiblen Anpassung der Industriesysteme auf eine schwankende Energieversorgung befassen. Insbesondere sollen die Auswirkungen auf Produktionsabläufe und somit auf die betriebliche Arbeitsorganisation untersucht werden.

Im Themenfeld Systemintegration betrachtet das Projekt ENavi die Energiewende als einen gesamtgesellschaftlichen Veränderungsprozess. Die Partner wollen dazu beitragen, die Energiewende mit einer größtmöglichen Einbindung der Vielzahl von Stakeholdern voranzutreiben und das Marktpotenzial verschiedener Technologien abzuschätzen. Das ITAS wird sich unter anderem verstärkt bei der Entwicklung der Roadmaps einschließlich Szenarienentwicklung, bei der Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung und beim Thema Mobilitätswende einbringen. (27.04.2016)

Weiterführende Links: