Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New project on Assisted Living for people with dementia

The Assisted Living project brings together a group of experts in information technology, health science, social science and ethics from Norway, Germany and UK, in order to advance Responsible Research and Innovation in the field of welfare technology.
Logo des Work Research Institute (AFI) der Hochschule Oslo und Akershus
The Work Research Institute (AFI) in Oslo coordinates the project.

Nearly 36 million people currently suffer from dementia globally, a number that is projected to rise to 100 million by 2050. Technological developments are presumed to assist in the daily living of adults with Mild Cognitive Impairment or Dementia (MCI/D), in order to enhance their wellbeing as well as prevent and postpone institutionalization. This is achieved without the need to increase health care personnel. The goal is to confront the lack of personnel without sacrificing integrity, autonomy, independency, dignity and quality of life.

Assisted living technology (ALT) is a generic term for a heterogeneous group of technologies aiming at enhancing security and safety and enabling people to live an independent everyday life at home and in the community. Such technologies typically feature sensors with corresponding alarms (e.g. fall sensors, fire sensors and movement sensors including GPS positioning), timer-based monitoring and switch automation solutions (e.g. light switch controls, oven switches and electronic door locks), calendar-type assistance to help people remember tasks, and communication solutions connecting both devices and the person with the outside world.

The Assisted Living project brings together a group of experts in ICT, health science, social science and ethics from Norway, Germany and UK, in order to advance Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI) in the field of welfare technology for people suffering from MCI/D. The project develops ALT that follows the principles of RRI, applies it in purpose built homes in an Oslo municipality and compares its impact in relation to standard approaches. The ultimate aim is to provide an alternative process of developing ALT for the ageing population that is more effective and enhances the wellbeing of MCI/D sufferers.

The project is coordinated by the Work Research Institute (AFI) at the Oslo and Akershus University with the participation of Oslo municipal care providers, the Norwegian Board of Technology, Norwegian ALT providers as well as ITAS and the UK universities of Exeter and Bristol. (11.04.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Projekt zu Assisted Living für Menschen mit Demenz

Internationale Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen Informatik, Gesundheits- und Sozialwissenschaft sowie Ethik arbeiten gemeinsam an der Weiterentwicklung von „Responsible Research and Innovation“ (RRI) im Bereich der Technik für Sozialdienste.
Logo des Work Research Institute (AFI) der Hochschule Oslo und Akershus
Das Work Research Institute (AFI) der Hochschule Oslo und Akershus koordiniert das Projekt.

Derzeit leiden weltweit fast 36 Millionen Menschen an Demenz, eine Zahl, die bis zum Jahr 2050 vermutlich auf 100 Millionen ansteigen wird. Neue technische Entwicklungen sollen Menschen mit leichten kognitiven Störungen oder Demenz (MCI/D) im Alltag unterstützen, um so ihre Lebensqualität zu verbessern und die Einweisung in ein Heim zu verhindern oder zumindest hinauszuzögern. Dies soll ohne Aufstockung des Pflegepersonals erreicht werden. Das Ziel ist es, dem Personalmangel entgegenzuwirken, ohne dabei Integrität, Selbstständigkeit, Unabhängigkeit und Würde aufzugeben.

Der Begriff „Assisted Living Technology“ (ALT) bezeichnet eine heterogene Gruppe von Technologien, die die Sicherheit und den Schutz der Patienten verbessern und ihnen so einen unabhängigen Alltag in ihrem Zuhause und in der Gemeinschaft ermöglichen. Solche Technologien verfügen üblicherweise über Sensoren und entsprechende Alarme (z. B. Sturzsensor, Feuersensor und Bewegungssensor einschl. GPS-Tracking) und bieten timer-gesteuerte Lösungen zur Überwachung und Schalterautomatisierung (z. B. Lichtschalter-Steuerung, Backofen-Bedienung und elektrische Türschlösser). Hinzu kommen kalenderbasierte Unterstützung, um die Patienten an verschiedene Aufgaben zu erinnern, sowie Kommunikationslösungen, die sowohl die Technik als auch den Patienten mit der Außenwelt verbinden.

Im „Assisted Living“-Projekt arbeitet eine Gruppe von norwegischen, deutschen und britischen Expertinnen und Experten aus den Bereichen IKT, Gesundheitswissenschaft, Sozialwissenschaft und Ethik gemeinsam an der Weiterentwicklung von „Responsible Research and Innovation“ (RRI) im Bereich der Technik für Sozialdienste für Menschen mit MCI/D. Sie entwickeln eine ALT, die sich an RRI-Prinzipien orientiert, setzen diese in eigens dafür gebauten Häusern in einem Stadtteil von Oslo ein und vergleichen die Ergebnisse mit denen von Standardanwendungen. Angestrebt wird ein alternativer Prozess für die Entwicklung von Assisted Living Technologien , der effektiver ist und das Wohlergehen der MCI/D-Patienten verbessert.

Das Projekt wird vom Work Research Institute (AFI) der Hochschule Oslo und Akershus koordiniert, weitere Beteiligte sind regionale Pflegedienstleister in Oslo, der norwegische Technologierat, norwegische ALT-Anbieter sowie das ITAS und die Universitäten Exeter und Bristol in Großbritannien. (11.04.2016)

Weiterführende Links: