Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Sustainability targets of Freiburg evaluated

The project "District of the Future – the Freiburg Sustainability Compass at the Urban Lab" is finished. In this context the team of "District Future – Urban Lab" completed the evaluation of the 60 sustainability targets.
Picture: City of Freiburg
Picture: City of Freiburg

According to the Freiburg Sustainability Compass, conceptual contributions to the realization of a sustainable development in a "District of the Future" were developed. The aim was the participatory development of requirements for and forms of implementation of a sustainable urban district in both an existing and a newly developed area. The directional thematic background was provided by Freiburg's 60 sustainability targets with a focus on the five topics "Social justice", "Urban planning and urban development", "Improved mobility, less traffic", "Education" as well as "Climate and energy".

Actors from politics, science, the economy and the civil society of the Freiburg Sustainability Council were involved in the process from its beginning and worked together in Future Labs on trend-setting challenges and problem-solving approaches for a District of the Future in Freiburg. The project "District of the Future – the Freiburg Sustainability Compass in the Urban Lab" combined the topics challenges of a sustainable urban development and a continuous public participation. The awareness for a common understanding of responsibility was raised among disseminators as well as subject experts and citizens by involving them right from the beginning in the development of solutions for conflicts of objectives in the framework of the "District Future – Urban Lab".

The District Future team was the scientific partner of the city of Freiburg and supported its Sustainability Management Unit in questions regarding content and concept. The Future Labs, which are a methodological component of the participatory approach, were accompanied in the realization of their concept and received support in dealing with conflicts of objectives. The Sustainability Compass as an instrument was critically reflected and the sustainability targets of this instrument were evaluated against the background of the "Integrative Concept of Sustainable Development" regarding their scientific and directional aspects. (24.03.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitsziele evaluiert

Das Projekt „Quartier der Zukunft – der Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitskompass im Labor Stadt“ fand mit der Erstellung einer Evaluationsstudie für das Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement erfolgreich seinen Abschluss.
Bild: Stadt Freiburg
Bild: Stadt Freiburg

Orientiert am Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitskompass wurden im Laufe des Projekts konzeptionelle Beiträge zur Umsetzung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in einem „Quartier der Zukunft“ in Freiburg erarbeitet. Ziel war die partizipative Entwicklung von Anforderungen und Umsetzungsvarianten eines nachhaltigen Stadtquartiers für ein bestehendes sowie für ein neues Quartier. Den richtungsweisenden thematischen Hintergrund hierfür boten die 60 Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitsziele, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf den fünf Themenfeldern „Soziale Gerechtigkeit“, „Stadtplanung und Stadtentwicklung“, „Verbesserte Mobilität, weniger Verkehr“, „Bildung“, sowie „Klima und Energie“ lag.

Akteure aus Politik, Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft des Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitsrates wurden von Beginn an am Prozess beteiligt und arbeiteten in Future Labs gemeinsam an zukunftsweisenden Herausforderungen und Lösungsansätzen für ein Freiburger Quartier der Zukunft. Das Projekt „Quartier der Zukunft – der Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitskompass im Labor Stadt“ brachte die beiden Themenfelder Herausforderungen einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung und eine durchgehende Bürgerbeteiligung zusammen. Multiplikatorinnen und Multiplikatoren wurden zusammen mit Fachexperten und Bürgerschaft durch eine frühe Beteiligung von Beginn an für ein gemeinsames Verantwortungsverständnis sensibilisiert und in die Lösungserarbeitung beim Umgang mit auftretenden Zielkonflikten im Rahmen der Freiburger Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie eingebunden.

Das Projekt erfolgte im Kontext des ITAS-Projekts „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“. Das Quartier-Zukunft-Team begleitete die Stadt Freiburg als wissenschaftlicher Partner und unterstützte dabei die Arbeiten der Freiburger Stabstelle Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement inhaltlich und konzeptionell. Die Future Labs als methodischer Bestandteil des partizipativen Ansatzes wurden konzeptionell begleitet sowie im Umgang mit Zielkonflikten unterstützt. Der Nachhaltigkeitskompass als Instrument wurde kritisch reflektiert sowie die Nachhaltigkeitsziele des Instruments vor dem Hintergrund des „Integrativen Konzepts Nachhaltiger Entwicklung“ wissenschaftlich und richtungsweisend evaluiert. (24.03.2016)

Weiterführende Links: