Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Policy advice on batteries for British ministry

ITAS and the Helmholtz Institute Ulm researched the future application of storage technologies for solar electricity in developing countries. Their findings were included in a study for the British Department for International Development.
ITAS-News: Photovolaikanlage
In combination with the appropriate storage technology, photovoltaic systems could replace wood and kerosene as energy sources in developing countries. (Picture by KIT / Markus Breig)

Still today, kerosene lamps and candles are the major source of light in many developing countries and wood stoves are common for cooking. Especially the use of kerosene causes particulate emissions which are hazardous to health while the use firewood leads to controlled and uncontrolled clearing with the well-known negative impacts for health and the environment. The use and storage of electricity generated from solar energy by photovoltaics is considered as one way to reduce the strong dependence on fossil and biogenic fuels.

For example, the number of stand-alone photovoltaic systems in the lower power range in combination with battery storage devices has increased in recent years in Africa and India. They are used for the operation of LED lamps and smaller electronic devices (mobile phone, laptop, LED TV). To date, especially the high storage costs are one of the reasons why appliances with higher power needs cannot be operated economically with these types of stand-alone systems. This mostly applies to developing regions where electricity should be provided at low cost. However, current research shows that storage costs could be considerably reduced in the future.

In order to use stand-alone photovoltaic systems and micro grids with energy storage systems for appliances with higher power needs in developing countries, a number of technical challenges have to be overcome and suitable battery systems have to be identified. The colleagues of ITAS and the Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) defined the resulting research questions and the related need for research in this context. Their results were presented in a research report for the British Department for International Development (DfID). (21.03.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Britisches Ministerium zu Batterien beraten

Das ITAS und das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm haben den künftigen Einsatz von Speichertechnologien für Solarstrom in Entwicklungsländern untersucht. Ihre Erkenntnisse fanden Eingang in eine Studie für das britische Department for International Development.
ITAS-News: Photovolaikanlage
Kombiniert mit der richtigen Speichertechnologie können Photovoltaikanlagen Holz und Petroleum als Energiequellen in Entwicklungsländern ersetzen. (Foto: KIT / Markus Breig)

Noch heute werden in vielen Entwicklungsländern vor allem Petroleumlampen und Kerzen als Lichtquelle und Holzöfen zum Kochen eingesetzt. Insbesondere die Nutzung von Petroleum führt zu gesundheitsschädlichen Feinstaubemissionen, während mit dem Einsatz von Feuerholz kontrollierte und unkontrollierte Rodungen einhergehen, mit den bekannten negativen Umwelt- und Gesundheitseffekten. Die Nutzung und Speicherung von aus Sonnenenergie erzeugter Elektrizität durch die Photovoltaik wird als eine Lösung angesehen, die starke Abhängigkeit von fossilen und biogenen Brennstoffen zu reduzieren.

Seit einigen Jahren kommen zum Beispiel in Afrika und Indien im niedrigen Leistungsbereich vermehrt Photovoltaikinselanlagen in Kombination mit Batteriespeichern zum Einsatz. Diese werden für den Betrieb von LED Lampen und kleineren elektronischen Geräten (Handy, Laptop, LED-TV) eingesetzt. Bislang sind insbesondere die hohen Speicherkosten ein Grund dafür, warum Verbrauchsgeräte mit höheren Leistungen an solchen Inselanlagen nicht ökonomisch betrieben werden können. Dies trifft besonders auf Entwicklungsregionen zu, in welchen Strom günstig zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollte. Aktuelle Untersuchungen zeigen jedoch, dass sich die Speicherkosten in der Zukunft deutlich reduzieren könnten.

Um Photovoltaik-Inselanlagen und Mikronetze mit Energiespeichern in Entwicklungsländern künftig auch für den Betrieb von Geräten mit höherer Leistung, wie Kochherde, zu nutzen, müssen vielfältige technische Herausforderungen bewältigt und geeignete Batteriesysteme identifiziert werden. Die Kolleginnen und Kollegen am ITAS und am Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU) haben die sich ergebenden Forschungsfragen und den notwendigen Forschungsbedarf in diesem Anwendungskontext aufgezeigt. Ihre Ergebnisse mündeten in einen Forschungsbericht für das britische Entwicklungsministerium, das Department for International Development (DfID). (21.03.2016)

Weiterführende Links: