Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Helmholtz Alliance presents results

The challenges of the energy transition – from demand and user perspective – were at the heart of the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS, which was coordinated by ITAS for five years. The partners met from March 14 to 15 at the final conference in Berlin.
Collage ENERGY-TRANS
ENERGY-TRANS Konferenz
ENERGY-TRANS Podium

The energy transition turns out to be harder than expected after Fukushima. Initial optimism has given way to protest against new infrastructure such as high-voltage lines, more and more complaints about inequitably distributed burdens, and criticism about unclear competencies in the political arena. "Our initial assumption that the energy transition is more than replacing old technology with new has been clearly confirmed. It is a social transformation that affects many areas of life," says Armin Grunwald, Head of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and one of the two spokespersons of the research association.

Over a period of five years, the Alliance investigated the various interfaces between technical, economic and social factors that determine the conversion process towards new infrastructure. Four Helmholtz centers, four universities and the Centre for European Economic Research (ZEW) were involved in the research.

Participation: energy transition as a social process

The scientists were able to prove, among other things, that residents rather support decisions on infrastructure projects when they are preceded by intense participatory processes. In general, projects such as new power lines or wind and solar parks can actually benefit from the special expertise of the local population. What is important is to constructively integrate participatory processes into planning procedures.

"While up to now citizens were mainly energy consumers, many are now doubly affected by the ecological transformation of the energy sector," said project coordinator Jens Schippl from ITAS. As active consumers they themselves are expected to contribute to the success of the energy transition. In a field test, the researchers equipped households with smart meters in combination with a smart meter web portal developed by the University of Stuttgart. It became clear that a system that extensively supports consumers in using electricity efficiently in everyday life can lead to substantial energy savings in households.

The scientists of the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS presented their work results on March 14 and 15, 2016 at the final conference "Future infrastructures for meeting energy demands. Towards sustainability and social compatibility." The topics "Active citizens and consumers as an opportunity for the energy transition" and "Governance of the energy transition – what next?" were the focus of two panel discussions with representatives from politics, business and society. (16.03.2016)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | KIT

Helmholtz-Allianz präsentiert Ergebnisse

Die Herausforderungen der Energiewende – aus Bedarfs- und Nutzerperspektive – standen im Mittelpunkt der Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS, die das ITAS fünf Jahre koordinierte. Die Partner trafen sich vom 14. bis 15. März zur Abschlusskonferenz in Berlin.
Collage ENERGY-TRANS
ENERGY-TRANS Konferenz
ENERGY-TRANS Podium

Die Energiewende gestaltet sich schwerer als nach Fukushima gedacht. Statt Aufbruchsstimmung gibt es Protest gegen neue Infrastrukturen wie Hochspannungstrassen, häufen sich die Klagen über ungerecht verteilte Belastungen und wird auf undurchsichtig verteilte Kompetenzen im politischen Bereich hingewiesen. „Mehr als deutlich hat sich unsere Ausgangsvermutung bestätigt, dass die Energiewende mehr ist als der Ersatz von alter durch neue Technologie. Sie ist eine gesellschaftliche Transformation, die viele Lebensbereiche betrifft“, sagt Armin Grunwald, Leiter des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und einer der beiden Sprecher des Forschungsverbundes.

Über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren untersuchte die Allianz die vielfältigen Schnittstellen zwischen technischen, wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Faktoren, die den Umbauprozess hin zu neuen Infrastrukturen bestimmen. Vier Helmholtz-Zentren, vier Universitäten und das Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung waren an der Forschungsarbeit beteiligt.

Partizipation: Energiewende als gesellschaftlicher Prozess

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler konnten unter anderem belegen, dass Anwohner Entscheidungen über Infrastrukturprojekte eher mittragen, wenn intensive partizipative Verfahren vorgeschaltet werden. In der Regel können Projekte wie neue Stromtrassen oder Wind- und Solarparks von der speziellen Expertise der Bürgerinnen und Bürger vor Ort sogar profitieren. Wichtig ist dabei, Beteiligungsprozesse konstruktiv in Planungsverfahren zu integrieren.

„Waren Bürgerinnen und Bürger bislang hauptsächlich Energiekonsumenten, so sind nun viele von der ökologischen Umgestaltung des Energiebereichs gleich in doppelter Hinsicht betroffen“, so Projektkoordinator Jens Schippl vom ITAS. Als aktive Konsumenten sind sie gefordert, selbst zum Gelingen der Energiewende beizutragen. In einem Feldversuch haben die Forscherinnen und Forscher Haushalte mit Smart Metern ausgestattet und diese mit einem von der Universität Stuttgart entwickelten Smart-Meter-Webportal kombiniert. Es zeigte sich, dass ein System, das Konsumenten vielseitig dabei unterstützt, Strom im Alltag effizient zu nutzen, zu einer deutlichen Energieeinsparung in den Haushalten führen kann.

Ihre Arbeitsergebnisse präsentierten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS am 14. und 15. März 2016 bei der Abschlusskonferenz „Zukünftige Infrastrukturen der Energieversorgung. Auf dem Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit und Sozialverträglichkeit“. Die Themen „Aktive Bürger und Konsumenten als Chance für die Energiewende“ und „Steuerung der Energiewende – wie weiter?“ standen im Mittelpunkt zweier Diskussionsrunden mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. (16.03.2016)

Weitere Informationen: