Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

PACITA conference proceedings published

Future challenges for technology assessment (TA) were in the focus of the international conference "The Next Horizon of Technology Assessment" in February 2015. The papers and discussions are now available in the proceedings.
Cover Pacita Proceedings

The second European TA conference was the final event of the EU project PACITA (Parliaments and Civil Society in Technology Assessment) which dealt with methods, practices, and institutions for knowledge-based policy advice on subjects like science, technology, or innovations.

The focus of both the conference and the recently published proceedings was on the role of TA and its current and future challenges. Especially the so-called "Grand Challenges" like demographic change, sustainable energy or mobility, climate change and resource efficiency, or security of citizens are pressing issues where TA can contribute considerably. As a concept which is interdisciplinary, giving policy advice, and involving the public, it can help to better understand and provide options to cope with these challenges. The project partners are united in their aim to find societally "robust" and practical ways to shape the future.

The proceedings, which are available online, contain the majority of the presented papers. They also include summaries of special formats like round table or panel discussions during the conference. The proceedings are divided into three main sections: "TA and Policy Making", "Subject Area of TA Practice", and "TA Methods and Concepts". It offers a broad overview on current and future topics and at the same dares to provide a conceptual reflection and also the related look into the future of TA. (14.03.2016)

Bibliographic data:

Constanze Scherz, Tomáš Michalek, Leonhard Hennen, Lenka Hebáková, Julia Hahn, Stefanie B. Seitz (Hrsg.)
The Next Horizon of Technology Assessment. Proceedings from the PACITA 2015 Conference in Berlin. Prague: Technology Centre ASCR 2015.

For pdf download

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

PACITA-Konferenzband erschienen

Zukünftige Herausforderungen für die Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA) standen im Februar 2015 im Fokus der internationalen Konferenz „The Next Horizon of Technology Assessment“. Die Beiträge und Diskussionen stehen nun als Proceedings zur Verfügung.
Cover Pacita Proceedings

Die zweite europäische TA-Konferenz markierte den Abschluss des EU-Projekts PACITA (Parliaments and Civil Society in Technology Assessment), das sich mit Methoden, Praktiken und Institutionen für wissensbasierte Politikberatung rund um Themen wie Wissenschaft, Technologie oder Innovation auseinandersetzte.

Der Fokus der Konferenz sowie dem jetzt erschienenen Band liegt auf der Rolle von TA und ihren aktuellen und zukünftigen Herausforderungen. Gerade die so genannten „Grand Challenges“, wie der demografische Wandel, nachhaltige Energie oder Mobilität, Klimawandel und Ressourceneffizienz oder Freiheit und Sicherheit von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern sind drängende Themen, zu denen die TA einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten kann. Als interdisziplinäres, politikberatendes und die Öffentlichkeit beteiligendes Konzept kann sie helfen, diese Herausforderungen besser zu verstehen und Optionen anbieten, um sie zu bewältigen. Die Projektpartner eint dabei das Ziel, gesellschaftlich „robuste“ und praktische Wege zu finden, die Zukunft zu gestalten.

Die online verfügbaren Proceedings versammeln den Großteil der präsentierten Vorträge. Sie beinhalten zudem Zusammenfassungen spezieller Formate, wie zum Beispiel der Round Table- oder Panel-Diskussionen während der Konferenz. Der Band gliedert sich in drei Hauptthemen: „TA and Policy Making”, „Subject Areas of TA Practice” und „TA Methods and Concepts”. Er bietet damit einen reichhaltigen Überblick über aktuelle und künftige Themen, gleichzeitig wagt er eine konzeptionelle Reflexion und damit verbunden auch den Blick in die Zukunft der TA. (14.03.2016)

Bibliographische Angaben:

Constanze Scherz, Tomáš Michalek, Leonhard Hennen, Lenka Hebáková, Julia Hahn, Stefanie B. Seitz (Hrsg.)
The Next Horizon of Technology Assessment. Proceedings from the PACITA 2015 Conference in Berlin. Prague: Technology Centre ASCR 2015.

Zum PDF-Download