Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Opportunities and obstacles of urban ropeway systems in Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Urban ropeway systems can contribute to a sustainable transport system. However, such projects often fail due to strong resistance. A new project will provide information on the practicality of such systems in Baden-Württemberg.
Photo: Doppelmayr / Graventa Group
Photo: Doppelmayr / Graventa Group

In recent years, transport experts and urban planners have increasingly discussed urban ropeway systems as a complement to public transport.

In Germany, however, most ideas have so far failed to get off the ground. Despite sophisticated technical systems, such concepts have often been confronted with substantial resistance from professionals and the population, which prevented the realization of such projects. This new project will transparently provide insights into the arguments and positions for and against urban ropeway systems.

In order to understand resistance and barriers to the installation of ropeway systems, we will analyze three potentially suitable areas in Baden-Württemberg. An impact assessment will be provided for all three areas. Each of them will be analyzed qualitatively by conducting focus group discussions with the public and in stakeholder workshops in order to identify conflicts of interests, goals, and norms and values at stake. For one of the areas, we will quantitatively assess the potential impact of a ropeway on the transport system, including its economic and ecological effects, by using a microscopic software tool. (17.02.2016)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Über die Machbarkeit, Chancen und Hemmnisse urbaner Luftseilbahnen in Baden-Württemberg

Urbane Luftseilbahnsysteme können einen Beitrag zu einem nachhaltigen Verkehrssystem leisten. Oft scheitern solche Vorhaben aber an erheblichem Widerstand. Ein neues Projekt gibt Aufschluss über die Praxistauglichkeit solcher Systeme in Baden-Württemberg.
Foto: Doppelmayr / Graventa Group
Foto: Doppelmayr / Graventa Group

Seit einigen Jahren diskutieren Verkehrsexperten und Stadtplaner immer wieder über den Einsatz von Luftseilbahnen im Stadtgebiet als Ergänzung zum öffentlichen Nahverkehr.

Die meisten dieser Vorhaben in Deutschland sind jedoch bisher gescheitert. Trotz technisch voll ausgereifter Systeme stoßen neue Projekte in Deutschland teilweise auf erhebliche Widerstände in der Bevölkerung und unter professionellen Akteuren, die eine Realisierung derartiger Vorhaben verhindern. In dem neuen Projekt sollen die vorgebrachten Argumente und Positionen für und wider urbane Luftseilbahnsysteme transparent aufbereitet werden.

Um konkrete Widerstände und Hemmnisse über die technische Realisierbarkeit hinaus besser verstehen zu können, werden drei potenzielle Untersuchungsräume in Baden-Württemberg qualitativ untersucht. Erwartungen und Bedenken werden sowohl in Workshops mit professionellen Akteuren als auch in Fokusgruppen mit Bürgern identifiziert und diskutiert. Zusätzlich werden mithilfe eines mikroskopischen Verkehrsmodells die anzunehmenden Wirkungen einer Luftseilbahn in einem der potenziellen Untersuchungsräume quantitativ analysiert, um eine gesamtökonomische und ökologische Bewertung vorzunehmen. (17.02.2016)

Weiterführende Links: