Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New publication on robotics

The anthology "Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience" examines the implications of using technomorphic and biomorphic metaphors to describe adaptive and intelligent technologies.
Cover

Describing the human body as a machine or the operations of a machine as if they were human actors is mostly an unreflective practice in everyday language. However, this kind of technological and biomorphic descriptions of technology and living beings has also found its way into the phraseology of natural and engineering sciences.

The anthology "Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience" provides an interdisciplinary view of both the technical challenges of adaptive, intelligent and self-organizing systems and the technological implications of unreflective metaphorical speech.

Scientists from the engineering sciences, technology assessment and philosophy point out the problems that arise when engineering practices fade into the background of a monistic machine paradigm.

Under the thematic priorities "Life and other Functions," "Agency and Its Application" and "Ethics and Applications," the authors reveal the structures, applications and implications of technomorphic and biomorphic metaphors and examine their methodological, anthropological and normative influence on the development of adaptive and intelligent technologies in order to provide guidance to developers and decision makers. (04.02.2016)

Bibliographic data:

Mathias Gutmann, Michael Decker, Julia Knifka (Eds.)
Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience. Epistemological and Ethical Implications of Technomorphic Descriptions of Technologies. Münster: Lit 2015.
(Hermeneutics and Anthropology, Vol. 6)
more

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Neuerscheinung zur Robotik

In dem Sammelband „Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience“ werden die Folgen der Beschreibung von adaptiven und intelligenten Technologien durch technomorphe und biomorphe Metaphern untersucht.
Cover

Den menschlichen Körper als eine Maschine zu beschreiben oder die Operationen einer Maschine als ob sie menschliche Handlungsträger seien, wird in der Alltagssprache meist unreflektiert praktiziert. Darüber hinaus hat diese Art der techno- und biomorphen Beschreibungen von Technik und Lebewesen aber auch Einzug in die Redeweise der Natur- und Technikwissenschaften gehalten.

Der Sammelband „Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience“ liefert sowohl einen interdisziplinären Blick auf die technischen Herausforderungen an adaptive, intelligente und selbst-organisierende Systeme als auch auf die technologischen Konsequenzen einer unreflektierten metaphorischen Sprechweise.

Wissenschaftler aus den Technikwissenschaften, der Technikfolgenabschätzung sowie der Philosophie weisen auf die Probleme hin, die sich ergeben, wenn ingenieurwissenschaftliche Praxen hinter einem monistischen Maschinenparadigma zurücktreten.

Unter den thematischen Schwerpunkten „Life and other Functions“, „Agency and Its Application“ und „Ethics and Applications“ legen die Autoren die Strukturen, Anwendungsbereiche und Auswirkungen der techno- und biomorphen Metaphern offen und untersuchen den methodischen, anthropologischen sowie normativen Einfluss dieser auf die Entwicklung von adaptiven und intelligenten Technologien, um Entwickler und Entscheidungsträger dadurch Orientierung zu bieten. (04.02.2016)

Bibliographische Daten:

Mathias Gutmann, Michael Decker, Julia Knifka (Hrsg.)
Evolutionary Robotics, Organic Computing and Adaptive Ambience. Epistemological and Ethical Implications of Technomorphic Descriptions of Technologies. Münster: Lit 2015.
(Hermeneutics and Anthropology, Bd. 6)
mehr zum Buch