Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

New dissertation project about the Ethics of Innovation [17.09.2014]

Since a couple of years technological visions have received increasing attention in Technology Assessment. Especially in the context of nanotechnology, which has been controversially discussed in public, it became apparent how much visions of technological futures influence the perception of new technologies, raise expectations, but also fuel fears.

In the last two years scholars of Technology Assessment have drawn attention to the role and responsibility of technological visioneers for the technological development. In this respect, many questions came up and are still open: Do actors at the interface between science and technology who provide or promote technological visions comply with their responsibility? Do they even go beyond their competence when they move to fictional grounds? Which types of responsibility have to be distinguished?

The dissertation "Futures, Visions and Responsibility – The Ethics of Innovation" seeks to clarify the two concepts "Leitbild" and vision comparatively and to determine their role in debates about technology in recent years. It will then develop a concept of responsibility and answer the question if it is possible or even required to attribute responsibility to visionary practices.

Related links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Neues Dissertations-Projekt zu ethischen Fragen von Innovationsprozessen [17.09.2014]

Technikvisionen erfahren seit einigen Jahren eine wachsende Aufmerksamkeit in der Technikfolgenabschätzung. Vor allem im Kontext der aufkommenden Nanotechnologie, die in der Öffentlichkeit kontrovers diskutiert wurde, zeigte sich, wie stark Visionen technischer Zukünfte die Wahrnehmung der neuen Technologien beeinflussen, Erwartungen wecken, aber auch Ängste schüren können.

In den vergangenen zwei Jahren haben mehrere Arbeiten, die im Kontext der Technikfolgenabschätzung entstanden sind, auf die Rolle der Technikvisionäre und auf deren Verantwortung in der Technikgenese aufmerksam gemacht. Dabei sind viele Fragen offen: Werden Akteure, die sich an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Technik aufhalten und Technikvisionen verbreiten, ihrer spezifischen Rollenverantwortung gerecht? Überschreiten sie gar ihre Kompetenz, wenn sie sich auf das Terrain des Fiktiven begeben? Welche Verantwortungstypen gibt es?

Die Dissertation „Zukünfte, Visionen und Verantwortung – Ethische Fragen von Innovationsprozessen“ versucht zunächst die Begriffe Leitbild und Vision komparativ zu schärfen und ihren Ort in der Technikdebatte der vergangenen Jahre zu skizzieren. Die Arbeit wird einen Verantwortungsbegriff entwickeln und der Frage nachgehen, ob „visionäre“ Praktiken Handlungen sind, die es möglich oder gar erforderlich machen, dass Verantwortung für sie übernommen bzw. ihnen zugesprochen wird.

Weitere Links: