Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Issue 3/2013 of the ITAS journal "Technology Assessment - Theory and Practice" (TATuP) has been published [03.12.2013]

Cover

Under the heading "Fragile Evidence", this issue focuses on the problem of decision making under uncertainty. The problem itself is not new: Modern societies have always owed their development dynamics to the transformation of uncertainty into partial certainty. However, the unrecognized could be relied on to be in principle recognizable. This certainty of rationality has not disappeared, but it has changed in form, says the editor of the thematic focus Stefan Böschen. Today, most contemporaries acknowledge the authority of science. However, the self-evident character of the allocation of this authority has vanished. Authority of knowledge is increasingly dependent on special epistemic procedures and institutional legitimation measures. Evidences become fragile.

The contributions to the thematic focus discuss evidence-based policy between non-ambiguity and reflexivity (Sabine Weiland) and systematically address the question of whether a switch to evidence and indicators can be observed in selected fields of risk policy in support of the precautionary principle (Arnim von Gleich, Christian Pade and Henning Wigger). In the implementation of the precautionary principle at EU level, chemicals policy plays a prominent role. Martin Scheringer therefore uses the example of the current chemicals policy to explore the scope and effectiveness of measures based on the precautionary principle. Silke Beck in her contribution focuses on the IPCC and discusses the ambivalent role that such an institution can play. Finally, Sebastian Cacean and Christian Voigt show how evidences can be visualized and analyzed using argument cards.

Special reference should be made to the article by Gerhard Schmidt, Gerald Kirchner and Christoph Pistner in the discussion forum, which addresses the problem of final disposal and asks: "Can partitioning and transmutation help?" As usual, this issue also presents TA projects (radioactive waste materials, eSecurity) as well as reviews of relevant conferences and publications in the field of TA.

Related links:

  • You can find the table of contents and the articles of issue 3/2013 of "Technology Assessment – Theory and Practice" here.
  • An overview of the main focuses of the last issues here.

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Heft 3/2013 der ITAS-Zeitschrift "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" (TATuP) ist erschienen [03.12.2013]

Cover

Unter der Überschrift „Fragile Evidenz“ thematisiert der Schwerpunkt das Problem des Entscheidens unter Ungewissheit. Dieses Problem ist zunächst nichts Neues: Für moderne Gesellschaften galt schon immer, dass sie ihre Entwicklungsdynamik der Transformation von Unsicherheit in partielle Gewissheiten verdankt. Allerdings konnte man darauf vertrauen, dass das noch Unerkannte im Prinzip erkennbar sei. Diese Rationalitätsgewissheit hat sich zwar nicht in Luft aufgelöst, jedoch hat sich ihre Form verändert, so der Schwerpunktherausgeber Stefan Böschen. Heute erkennen die meisten Zeitgenossen die Autorität der Wissenschaft an. Aber der selbstverständliche Charakter der Zuweisung dieser Autorität hat sich verflüchtigt. Autorität des Wissens ist in wachsendem Maße abhängig von besonderen epistemischen Prozeduren und institutionellen Vorkehrungen der Legitimitätsstiftung. Evidenzen werden fragil.

Die im Schwerpunkt versammelten Beiträge diskutieren evidenzbasierte Politik zwischen Eindeutigkeit und Reflexivität (Sabine Weiland) und nehmen sich systematisch der Frage an, inwieweit zur Unterstützung des Vorsorgeprinzips eine Umstellung auf Indizien und Indikatoren in ausgesuchten Feldern der Risikopolitik zu beobachten ist (Arnim von Gleich, Christian Pade und Henning Wigger). Für die Umsetzung des Vorsorgeprinzips auf der Ebene der EU-Politik nimmt die Chemikalienpolitik eine exponierte Rolle ein. Deshalb diskutiert Martin Scheringer am Beispiel der aktuellen Chemikalienpolitik die Wirksamkeit und Reichweite von Maßnahmen, die dem Vorsorgeprinzip verpflichtet sind. Silke Beck nimmt sich in ihrem Beitrag dem IPCC an und diskutiert die ambivalente Rolle, die eine solch Institution einnehmen kann. Schließlich zeigen Sebastian Cacean und Christian Voigt wie Evidenzen mit Hilfe von Argumentkarten visualisiert und analysiert werden können.

Besonders hinzuweisen ist auf den Beitrag von Gerhard Schmidt, Gerald Kirchner und Christoph Pistner im Diskussionsforum, der sich mit der Endlagerproblematik befasst und fragt: „Können Partitionierung und Transmutation helfen?“ Wie üblich werden im aktuellen Heft auch TA-Projekte vorgestellt (Radioaktive Reststoffe; eSecurity) sowie Tagungen und Bücher besprochen, die für die Technikfolgenabschätzung einschlägig sind.

Weiterführende Links:

  • Das Inhaltsverzeichnis und die einzelnen Beiträge der Nummer 3/2013 von „Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis“ finden Sie hier.
  • Eine Übersicht zu den Schwerpunktthemen der letzten Hefte hier.