Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

International Summer School "Scientific Knowledge and the Transgression of Boundaries" [25.04.2012]

Registration for the International Summer School "Scientific Knowledge and the Transgression of Boundaries" is now open. From 27 to 31 August 2012, the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) will be organising an International Summer School for PhD students in San Sebastian, Spain, in partnership with the Post-Graduate Program in Philosophy, Science and Values of the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU) under the scientific supervision of Bettina-Johanna Krings (KIT/ITAS) and Professor Andoni Ibarra (UPV/EHU).

The aim of the International Summer School is to study the changes in the social role of science and technology in modern societies and to analyse these changes from a variety of disciplinary perspectives by using the two metaphors "definition" and "transgression" of boundaries. In this context, papers from a sociological, philosophical or historical perspective are welcome as much as specific examples from the various disciplines in natural or engineering sciences.

It is the second event in a line of International Graduate Summer Schools on "Knowledge Production in Modern Societies" organised by ITAS within the research area "Knowledge Society and Knowledge Policy" and was selected to be part of UPV/EHU XXXI Summer Courses and XXIV European Courses, held in San Sebastian.

The Summer School provides PhD students with the opportunity to develop their projects in an intensive working atmosphere and in an international context. It includes lectures by international leading experts like Prof. Steve Fuller, Prof. Markus F. Peschl, Prof. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger and Prof. Hans-Peter Schütt, work in small group workshops under the supervision of Dr. Arianna Ferrari, Dr. Fabrice Pataut, Dr. Judith Simon, and Dr. Hannot Rodriguez, discussions in the plenum, as well as presentations by PhD students which will receive feed-back from discussants. Graduates may take part either in combination with a proposed individual presentation or without their own presentation.

Further information:
Registration and Call for Papers
Summer School event information
XXXI Summer Courses and XXIV European Courses in Donostia-San Sebastian
Project description "Line of International Graduate Summer Schools"

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Internationale Summer School „Scientific Knowledge and the Transgression of Boundaries“ [25.04.2012]

Die Anmeldung zur von ITAS mitorganisierten International Graduate Summer School zum Thema „Scientific Knowledge and the Transgression of Boundaries“ ist ab jetzt möglich. Vom 27. bis 31. August 2012 veranstaltet das Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) in Kooperation mit dem Postgraduierten-Programms in Philosophie, Wissenschaft und Werte  der Universität des Baskenlandes (UPV/EHU), eine internationale Summer School für Doktoranden unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Bettina-Johanna Krings (ITAS) und Professor Andoni Ibarra (UPV/EHU).

Ziel der internationalen Veranstaltung ist es, mithilfe der beiden Metaphern „Grenzziehung“ und „Entgrenzung“ die Veränderungen der gesellschaftlichen Funktion von Wissenschaft und Technologie in modernen Gesellschaften auszuloten und diesen unter vielfältigen disziplinären Perspektiven nachzuspüren: Hierbei sind sozialwissenschaftliche und philosophische Perspektiven genauso willkommen wie konkrete empirische Beispiele aus natur- oder ingenieurswissenschaftlichen Disziplinen.

Die Summer School ist die zweite Veranstaltung der vom Forschungsbereich Wissensgesellschaft und Wissenspolitik im ITAS organisierten Reihe internationaler Summer Schools für Graduierte zum Thema „Wissensproduktion in modernen Gesellschaften“. Sie wurde auf der Basis wissenschaftlicher Qualitätskriterien von der Universität des Baskenlandes in San Sebastian als Teil ihrer XXXI Sommerkurse und XXIV Europäischen Kurse ausgewählt und unterliegt ihrer organisatorischen Obhut.

Die Summer School bietet Doktoranden die Möglichkeit in intensiver Arbeitsatmosphäre und in internationalem Kontext ihre Arbeiten weiter zu entwickeln. Geboten werden hochrangige Vorlesungen internationaler Experten wie Prof. Steve Fuller, Prof. Markus F. Peschl, Prof. Hans-Jörg Rheinberger und Prof. Hans-Peter Schütt, Gruppenarbeit in Workshops unter der Leitung von Dr. Arianna Ferrari, Dr. Fabrice Pataut, Dr. Judith Simon und Dr. Hannot Rodriguez, Diskussionsrunden im Plenum sowie Vorträge der Doktoranden selbst, die durch Diskutanten kommentiert werden. Es besteht sowohl die Möglichkeit, sich mit einem eigenen Vortrag an der Summer School zu beteiligen als auch die Möglichkeit, ohne einen eigenen Vortrag an der Summer School teilzunehmen.

Weitere Links:
Anmeldung und Call for Papers
Summer School Veranstaltungsinformationen
XXXI Sommer Kurse und XXIV Europäische Kursen von Donostia-San Sebastian
Projektbeschreibung „Reihe internationaler Graduated Summer Schools“