Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

CONSIDER: New EU-project about stakeholder partizipation in research [16.04.2012]

The discussion on the possibilities, functions, advantages and drawbacks of the inclusion of societal interests in research has occupied social scientists for decades. The arguments have been derived from approaches concerned with democratic theory, the sociology of science and knowledge as well as theory of society. Civil society organisations (CSOs) such as environmental protection associations, consumer protection associations or trade unions fulfil several criteria which make them suitable actors in research projects: they represent the organised opinions of many and frequently have an interest in underlining their own position in a scientific manner or to design technologies according to their interests (e.g. sustainable development for nanotechnology). Up to now it is unclear how CSOs participate in the scientific production of knowledge or in technological development. It is also open to question what impacts the participation of CSOs could have on research or societal debates and how this is to be viewed in general.

This lack of clarity is the subject of the project "Civil Society Organisations In Designing Research Governance (CONSIDER)" supported by the EU Commission, which began in February 2012 with the participation of ITAS. It seeks to construct different models for the participation of civil society organisations in research projects. From these, the partners in the project, ITAS among others, will derive guidelines to provide interested stakeholders from science, industry, politics and the civil society with assistance for participation.

Apart from consultation with the EU commission, CONSIDER relies on a close exchange with CSOs. For this purpose the project itself involves CSOs and experiments with possibilities for participation. The consortium is furthermore building a network of interested CSOs to transmit the results of the project beyond the research community so that these can use the results directly.

Further information:
Project description CONSIDER
Staff at ITAS: Simon Pfersdorf, Michael Rader, Leonhard Hennen, Stefan Böschen, Martin Sand

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

CONSIDER: Neues EU-Projekt zur Partizipation zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisatonen in der Forschung [16.04.2012]

Die Diskussion über Möglichkeiten, Funktionen, Vor- und Nachteile der Einbeziehung gesellschaftlicher Interessen in die Forschung führen Sozialwissenschaftler seit Jahrzehnten. Argumente leiten sich sowohl aus demokratietheoretischen, wissens- und wissenschaftssoziologischen oder gesellschaftstheoretischen Ansätzen ab. Zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen (CSOs), wie Umweltschutzverbände, Verbraucherschutzverbände oder Gewerkschaften, erfüllen mehrere Kriterien, die sie zu passenden Akteuren in Forschungsprojekten machen: Sie repräsentieren die organisierte Meinung vieler und haben oftmals ein Interesse, ihre eigenen Positionen wissenschaftlich zu begründen oder Technologien in ihrem Sinne (z. B. Nachhaltigkeit bei Nanotechnologie) zu gestalten. Bislang ist jedoch unklar, auf welche Weise CSOs an der wissenschaftlichen Wissensproduktion oder Technologieentwicklung mitwirken. Fraglich scheint auch, welche Auswirkungen die Mitwirkung von CSOs auf Forschung oder gesellschaftliche Debatten haben könnten und wie diese insgesamt zu bewerten ist.

Auf diese Unklarheiten geht das von der EU-Kommission finanzierte Projekt „Civil Society Organisations In Designing Research Governance (CONSIDER)“ ein, das im Februar 2012 unter Mitarbeit des ITAS gestartet ist. Es möchte unterschiedliche Modelle konstruieren, wie CSOs sich in Forschungsprojekten beteiligen können. Daraus entwickeln die Projektpartner Leitlinien, um interessierten Stakeholdern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft Hilfestellungen zur Partizipation zu geben.

Neben der Beratschlagung mit der EU-Kommission setzt CONSIDER auf einen engen Austausch mit CSOs. Dazu bindet das Projekt selbst CSOs ein und probiert Möglichkeiten deren Mitwirkung aus. Außerdem baut das Konsortium ein Netzwerk interessierter CSOs auf, um die Ergebnisse des Projekts auch an Interessierte außerhalb der Forschung zu tragen, damit diese sie direkt nutzen können.

Weitere Links:
Projektseite CONSIDER
Mitarbeiter bei ITAS: Simon Pfersdorf, Michael Rader, Leonhard Hennen, Stefan Böschen, Martin Sand