Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ITAS-Journal "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" (Technology Assessment - Theory and Practice), issue 1/2003, with the focal theme "Evaluation of Research", online available [09.04.2003]

Cover

The focal theme of the first issue of the year 2003 is devoted to a topic currently of great interest at present in Germany: "Evaluation of Research". The introductory article by Stefan Kuhlmann, ISI Karlsruhe, presents a short description of the main development lines of governmental research and innovation funding and an overview of the main concepts, application areas and methods of evaluative procedures and their use in the process of political decision making. An "actor and process-oriented" evaluation approach is presented which meets with growing interest in research and innovation policy in Europe. The following contribution by Anthony F. J. van Raan, University of Leiden (Netherlands) offers an overview of the application of bibliometric methods for research performance assessment and monitoring of interdisciplinary scientific developments. Walter Grossenbacher-Mansuy, Sergio Bellucci (TA-SWISS) and Sami Kanaan (Evaluanda, Geneva) present content, purpose and method of the evaluation of the Swiss Centre for Technology Assessment TA-SWISS in 2002, which included as an important aspect a self-evaluation by TA-SWISS.

The following contributions constitute the main point of reference for the focal theme: Reinhard Hüttl presents the evaluation approach of the German Science Council, which advises the State and the Länder on questions concerning science policy. Jochen Luhmann and Thomas Langrock give a critical assessment of the evaluation of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment, Energy by the Science Council, and contrast it with their own recommendations. The following three articles are reports about the experiences made in the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centers (HGF) with regard to the introduction of the new instrument "Programme-oriented Research Funding: Manfred Popp, Chairman of the Executive Board of the Research Center Karlsruhe, reports on the first experiences with the new instrument; Henning Möller, head of the division for planning, external relationships and quality control of the Research Center Karlsruhe, gives an overview of the history of research steering and performance assessment in the Research Center Karlsruhe; Susanne Schultz-Hector, National Research Center for Environment and Health (GSF) presents the main results and conclusions of the evaluation of the Helmholtz research area "Health". The final contribution to the focal theme comes from a newly established research area in social-ecological research which aims at elaborating indicators for a discursive evaluation of transdisciplinary research (Matthias Bergmann, ISOE Frankfurt).

In the TA Projects segment of the journal the results of three recently concluded ITAS projects are presented: Energy from biomass residues and wastes; Analysis of the environmental effects of the production, use and disposal of CFRP or resp., aluminium components in aeroplane construction; and third, the results of a media analysis of the conflict about the final storage of radioactive waste on the example of the Working Group on selection criteria for final storage sites (AkEnd) of the Federal Ministry of the Environment. In addition, a project of the Rathenau Institute, i.e. the parliamentary TA office of the Netherlands, discusses questions and dilemma of the use of "Genomics in the agrofood sector"; the TA-Academy of Baden-Württemberg describes the approach and the results of a project on scenarios for a liberalised electricity supply integrating a special discursive method for setting up possible scenarios for the German electricity market in 2010; a contribution by the Center for Technology Assessment TA-SWISS, Bern, summarises the main results of a study on the application of information technology in transport (transport telematics).

In the Book Reviews section, a.o. two publications on sustainable development are presented, a further review deals with problems of the integrative modelling of Global Change.

The Conference Reports feature the following themes: Demographic change in the economy and society; Popularisation of technology - from expert knowledge to technical everyday knowledge; "Regional Cycles: Regional Economy towards Sustainability", and a report about the interdisciplinary colloquium on Technology WORLD Culture - Technical Civilisation and cultural identities in the age of globalisation, which was organissed by the Forum Technology and Society of the University of Aachen.

The ITAS-News and the TAB-News contain the usual information on (new) projects, publications and events of ITAS and TAB.

As an appendix to this issue, the publications and conference papers of ITAS in 2002 are listed.

  • To contents of issue 1 / 2003 of "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" here

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Die Zeitschrift "Technikfolgenabschätzung" Nr. 1, 2003, mit dem Schwerpunktthema "Evaluation von Forschung", online verfügbar [09.04.2003]

Cover

Der Schwerpunkt des ersten Heftes des Jahres 2003 befasst sich mit einem zur Zeit in Deutschland sehr aktuellen Thema: "Evaluation von Forschung". Der einführende Beitrag von Stefan Kuhlmann, ISI Karlsruhe, gibt eine knappe Darstellung der Entwicklungslinien staatlicher Forschungs- und Innovationsförderung und eine Übersicht über die wichtigsten Konzepte, Anwendungsbereiche und Methoden evaluativer Verfahren sowie ihrer Verwendung im Prozess politischer Entscheidungsfindung. Er stellt ein "akteurs- und prozessorientiertes" Evaluationsverfahren vor, das in der Forschungs- und Innovationspolitik in Europa auf wachsendes Interesse stößt. Der folgende Beitrag von Anthony F.J. van Raan, Universität Leiden (Niederlande) bietet einen Überblick über die Anwendung bibliometrischer Verfahren bei der Leistungsmessung und -bewertung insbesondere in Hinblick auf interdisziplinäre Forschung. Der Beitrag von Walter Grossenbacher-Mansuy,Sergio Bellucci (TA-SWISS), und Sami Kanaan, Evaluanda (Genf), stellt Inhalt, Zweck und Methode der im Jahre 2002 durchgeführten Evaluation des Zentrums für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung TA-SWISS vor, wobei ein wichtiger Aspekt die von TA-SWISS durchgeführte Selbstevaluation ist.

Die dann folgenden Beiträge stellen den aktuellen Bezugspunkt für diesen Schwerpunkt dar: Reinhard Hüttl stellt in seinem Beitrag den Evaluationsansatz des Wissenschaftsrates, einer Einrichtung der Politikberatung von Bund und Ländern in Fragen der Wissenschaftspolitik, dar. Jochen Luhmann und Thomas Langrock setzen sich mit der Evaluation des Wuppertal Instituts für Klima, Umwelt, Energie durch den Wisssenschaftsrat auseinander und stellen dieser eigene Empfehlungen gegenüber. Die folgenden drei Beiträge befassen sich mit den Erfahrungen, die in der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren (HGF) im Zusammenhang mit der Einführung der "Programmorientierten Förderung" gemacht wurden: Manfred Popp, Vorstandsvorsitzender des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe, berichtet über die ersten Erfahrungen mit dem neuen Instrument; der Beitrag von Hennig Möller, Leiter der Stabsabteilung Planung, Außenbeziehungen und Erfolgskontrolle des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe, befasst sich mit der "Entwicklungsgeschichte von Steuerung und Erfolgskontrolle" in der HGF; Susanne Schultz-Hector, GSF Forschungszentrum für Umwelt und Gesundheit, fasst die Erfahrungen und Ergebnisse der Evaluation des Helmholtz-Forschungsbereichs "Gesundheit" zusammen. Am Ende dieses Schwerpunktes steht ein Evaluationsansatz aus einem neu eingerichteten Forschungsfeld der sozial-ökologischen Forschung, bei dem es darum geht, "Indikatoren für eine diskursive Evaluation transdisziplinärer Forschung" zu erarbeiten (Matthias Bergmann, ISOE Frankfurt).

Im TA-Projekte-Segment der Zeitschrift werden Ergebnisse aus drei kürzlich abgeschlossenen Projekten des ITAS vorgestellt: "Energie aus Biogenen Reststoffen und Abfällen", "Analyse der Umweltwirkungen bei der Herstellung, Nutzung und Entsorgung von CFK- bzw. Aluminiumrumpfkomponenten im Flugzeugbau" sowie die Ergebnisse der empirischen Medienanalyse zum Konflikt um die Endlagerung radioaktiver Abfälle am Beispiel des "Arbeitskreises Auswahlverfahren Endlagerstandorte" (AkEnd) des Bundesumweltministeriums. Des Weiteren wird ein Projekt des Rathenau Institutes, dem parlamentarischen TA-Büro der Niederlande, vorgestellt, das sich mit Fragen und Dilemmata bei der Anwendung von "Genomics in the agrofood sector" befasst; die Akademie für Technikfolgenabschätzung von Baden-Württemberg beschreibt die Vorgehensweise und Ergebnisse des Projektes "Szenarien einer liberalisierten Stromversorgung", bei dem eine spezielle diskursive Methode zur Erstellung möglicher Szenarien für den deutschen Strommarkt im Jahr 2010 eingesetzt wurde; ein Beitrag des Zentrums für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung TA-SWISS fasst die wichtigsten methodischen und inhaltlichen Ergebnisse einer Studie zur Anwendung von Informationstechnologien im Verkehr (Verkehrstelematik) zusammen.

Im Rezensionen-Teil werden u. a. zwei Veröffentlichungen zu "Nachhaltige Entwicklung" vorgestellt, eine weitere Rezension befasst sich mit Problemen der integrativen Modellierung des Globalen Wandels.

Bei Tagungsberichten sind die Themen: Demografischer Wandel in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, Popularisierung von Technik - vom Fachwissen zum technischen Allgemeinwissen, Regional Cycles: Regional Economy towards Sustainability sowie ein Bericht über das interdisziplinäre Kolloquium "Technik WELT Kultur - Technische Zivilisation und kulturelle Identitäten im Zeitalter der Globalisierung", das vom Forum Technik und Gesellschaft der RWTH Aachen organisiert wurde.

Die ITAS-News und die TAB-News berichten wie immer über Projekte, Veröffentlichungen und Veranstaltungen aus ITAS und TAB.

Als Anhang ist dieser Ausgabe der TA-TuP eine Liste der Veröffentlichungen und Vorträge des ITAS im Jahre 2002 angefügt.

  • Zum Inhaltsverzeichnis des Heftes 1, 2003 von "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" hier