Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Study: Algorithms and discrimination

Algorithms have the potential to disadvantage people on the basis of certain personal characteristics. This is the conclusion reached by Carsten Orwat, researcher at ITAS, in a recent study for the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency.
Quelle: Nomos Verlag
Source: Nomos

Whether in the granting of loans, the selection of future personnel, or in predictive policing – thanks to comprehensive data sets, algorithms can prepare or execute decisions in more and more areas, with sometimes significant consequences. How great is the risk of discrimination associated with such decisions, and how can this risk be minimized?

In mid-September, ITAS published the study “Diskriminierungsrisiken durch Verwendung von Algorithmen” (Discrimination risks through the use of algorithms), financially supported by the Federal Anti-Discrimination Agency. According to the author Carsten Orwat, algorithms must distinguish between groups of people in many of the fields mentioned. However, this is problematic, especially if the distinction is made according to characteristics such as age, disability, ethnic origin, gender, or other legally protected characteristics.

Using examples, the study shows that these risks are quite real. For instance, there is a risk of unequal treatment if algorithms differentiate potential employees by gender, or if they reject credit seekers because of their ethnic origin.

Recommendations on regulation

The study also identifies possibilities to minimize these risks. One of its recommendations is to create preventive offers, such as advice to personnel and IT managers. In addition, Carsten Orwat recommends reforms and clarifications in anti-discrimination and data protection law as well as access options to documentation for anti-discrimination agencies in order to better protect the rights of those affected. (27.09.2019)

Further links and information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Studie: Algorithmen und Diskriminierung

Algorithmen bergen das Potenzial, Menschen aufgrund bestimmter persönlicher Merkmale zu benachteiligen. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommt Carsten Orwat, Wissenschaftler am ITAS, in einer aktuellen Studie für die Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes.
Quelle: Nomos Verlag
Quelle: Nomos Verlag

Ob bei der Kreditvergabe, der Auswahl künftigen Personals oder bei vorausschauender Polizeiarbeit – dank umfassender Datensätze können Algorithmen in immer mehr Bereichen Entscheidungen mit teils sehr starken Auswirkungen vorbereiten oder ausführen. Wie groß ist bei solchen Entscheidungen das Risiko von Diskriminierung einzustufen und wie kann dieses Risiko minimiert werden?

Dazu veröffentlichte das ITAS mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Antidiskriminierungsstelle des Bundes Mitte September die Studie „Diskriminierungsrisiken durch Verwendung von Algorithmen“. Algorithmen, so Autor Carsten Orwat, müssten für viele der genannten Felder Personengruppen unterscheiden. Dies sei aber problematisch, insbesondere wenn die Unterscheidung nach Merkmalen wie Alter, Behinderung, ethnischer Herkunft, Geschlecht oder anderen gesetzlich geschützten Merkmalen gebunden ist.

Anhand von Beispielen zeigt die Studie, dass diese Risiken durchaus real sind. So gebe es etwa die Gefahr der Ungleichbehandlung, wenn Algorithmen potenzielle Arbeitnehmende nach ihrem Geschlecht differenzieren oder wenn sie Kreditsuchende aufgrund ihrer ethnischen Herkunft ablehnen.

Empfehlungen zur Regulierung

Auch Möglichkeiten, diese Risiken zu minimieren, werden in der Studie genannt. So empfiehlt die Studie, präventive Angebote zu schaffen, wie beispielsweise die Beratung von Personal- bzw. IT-Verantwortlichen. Des Weiteren empfiehlt Carsten Orwat Reformen und Klarstellungen im Antidiskriminierungs- und Datenschutzrecht oder Zugriffsmöglichkeiten zu Dokumentationen für Antidiskriminierungsstellen, um die Rechte Betroffener besser zu schützen. (27.09.2019)

Weiterführende Links und Dokumente: