Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

The futures of 3D printing

A team of researchers at ITAS is part of the Cluster of Excellence 3D Matter Made to Order. With a view towards visions of the future, the team assesses the societal implications of 3D printing technologies and engages in dialogue with society.
Laser 3D-printed materials
Laser 3D-printed materials fire visions of new applications and business areas. (Source: Christian Kern / KIT)
Vision Assessment in the cluster of excellence 3D Matter Made to Order
The Vision Assessment combines the analysis of technological visions with a discussion of its societal impacts.

The Cluster of Excellence 3D Matter Made to Order, a cooperation of Heidelberg University and KIT, aims to develop the next generation of 3D printing technologies. It shall become possible to create materials and objects with a push of a button, all the way to the molecular scale. That such visionary technologies engender societal hopes and concerns is the starting point of the study.

Scenarios of 3D printing

With the approach of vision assessment, which was developed at ITAS, the study analyzes possible futures of 3D printing and assesses their societal implications. Together with other researchers of the cluster, stakeholders and the public the team will develop and assess scenarios of 3D printing futures that combine technological and societal aspects.

The aim is to start an early discourse on the societal consequences of a new generation of digital technologies and to bring science into dialogue with society. (05.08.2019)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Zukünfte des 3D-Drucks

Ein ITAS-Team ist beteiligt am Exzellenzcluster 3D Matter Made to Order. Mit Blick auf Zukunftsvisionen schätzt das Team die gesellschaftlichen Implikationen von 3D-Druck-Technologien ab und sucht den Dialog mit Politik, Industrie und Zivilgesellschaft.
Laser-gedruckte 3D-Materialien
3D-gedruckte Materialien befeuern Visionen von neuen Anwendungen und Geschäftsfeldern. (Quelle: Christian Kern / KIT)
Vision Assessment im Exzellenzcluster 3D Matter Made to Order
Das Vision Assessment verbindet die Analyse von Technikvisionen mit einem Dialog über mögliche Technikfolgen.

Das Exzellenzcluster 3D Matter Made to Order, in dem die Universität Heidelberg und das KIT kooperieren, setzt sich zum Ziel, 3D-Druck-Technologien der nächsten Generation zu entwickeln. Materialien von der molekularen Ebene bis zum greifbaren Objekt sollen digital und auf Knopfdruck gestaltbar werden. Der Umstand, dass solche visionären Technologien auch gesellschaftliche Hoffnungen und Befürchtungen erzeugen, ist der Ausgangspunkt der Studie.

Szenarien zu 3D-Druck

Mit dem am ITAS entwickelten Ansatz des Vision Assessment wollen die Forschenden mögliche Zukünfte des 3D-Drucks analysieren, um gesellschaftliche Implikationen der Technologien abzuschätzen. Das ITAS-Team wird gemeinsam mit den Forscherinnen und Forschern im Exzellenzcluster mit Vertretern aus Industrie, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft sowie der Öffentlichkeit Szenarien zu den gesellschaftlichen Implikationen des 3D-Drucks entwerfen und diskutieren.

Ziel ist es, Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft frühzeitig in einen Dialog zu den möglichen sozialen Folgen der neuen digitalen Technologien zu bringen. (05.08.2019)

Weiterführende Links: