Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

TATuP on Digitalization in the Global South

Information and communications technology (ICT) creates new opportunities, but also poses risks. The TATuP special topic in issue 2/2019 addresses specific challenges in the Global South and places TA of digitalization in a global context.
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
Double-page spreads with voices from digital Africa complete the current special topic.

Great hopes are pinned on the increasing digitalization on the African continent as ICT should lead to democratization, equality, and, last but not least, growing opportunities on the world markets. However, unequal power relations, neocolonialism, (digital) illiteracy, barriers to access, and the gender digital divide are, as elsewhere in the Global South, downsides of technological progress.

This issue’s special topic “Digitalization in the Global South” illuminates these aspects through interdisciplinary approaches and also from the perspective of the actors involved. The authors thus make an important contribution to technology assessment (TA) of digitalization in the global context. Guest editors of this TATuP special topic are Jessica Heesen, Laura Schelenz, Kerstin Schopp, and Maria Pawelec from the International Center for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities of the University of Tübingen.

In the TATuP interview, Klaus Töpfer talks about global environmental policy. The former Federal Minister for the Environment and current co-chair of the National Support Body for the selection of a repository site for high-level radioactive waste comments, among other things, on the importance of democracy for long-term environmental policy and emphasizes the great responsibility of TA.

Also in the summer issue of TATuP: two research papers on assistive technology in health care, a plea for developing the openTA portal into an international platform, as well as reviews, conference reports, and news from the community. (17.07.2019)

Further links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

TATuP zu Digitalisierung im globalen Süden

Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten, bergen aber auch Risiken. Die TATuP-Ausgabe 2/2019 thematisiert die spezifischen Herausforderungen im Globalen Süden und setzt die TA der Digitalisierung in einen globalen Kontext.
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
TATuP 2/2019 "Digitalization in the Global South"
Doppelseiten mit Stimmen aus dem digitalen Afrika ergänzen das aktuelle TATuP-Thema.

Demokratisierung, Gleichberechtigung und nicht zuletzt wachsende Chancen auf den Weltmärkten – mit der voranschreitenden Digitalisierung verbinden sich auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent große Hoffnungen. Ungleiche Machtverhältnisse, Neokolonialismus, (digitaler) Analphabetismus, Zugangsbarrieren und die digitale Kluft zwischen den Geschlechtern (gender digital divide) bilden dort, wie anderswo im Globalen Süden, die Kehrseite technologischen Fortschritts.

Das TATuP-Thema „Digitalization in the Global South“ verbindet Ansätze aus verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen und beleuchtet diese Aspekte auch aus Perspektive der betroffenen Akteure. Damit leisten die Autorinnen und Autoren einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA) der Digitalisierung im globalen Kontext. Gastherausgeberinnen dieses TATuP-Themas sind Jessica Heesen, Laura Schelenz, Kerstin Schopp und Maria Pawelec vom Internationalen Zentrum für Ethik in den Wissenschaften der Universität Tübingen.

Über globale Umweltpolitik spricht im TATuP-Interview Klaus Töpfer. Der ehemalige Bundesumweltminister und aktuelle Ko-Vorsitzende des Nationalen Begleitgremiums für die Suche nach einem Endlager für hochradioaktive Abfallstoffe äußert sich u. a. zur Bedeutung der Demokratie für eine langfristig angelegte Umweltpolitik und stellt die große Verantwortung der TA heraus.

Außerdem in der Sommerausgabe von TATuP: Zwei Forschungsbeiträge zu assistiven Techniken in der Pflege, ein Plädoyer für den Ausbau des Fachportals openTA zu einer internationalen Plattform sowie Rezensionen, Tagungsberichte und Neuigkeiten aus der Community. (17.07.2019)

Weiterführende Links: