Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Global TA on UN’s agenda

How can technology assessment help to reach the United Nations sustainability goals? At the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), ITAS scientist Miltos Ladikas reported on the goal to establish a worldwide TA network.
ITAS scientist Miltos Ladikas
ITAS scientist Miltos Ladikas (Source: ITAS / archive)
UNCTAD Logo
(Source: UNCTAD CC BY-SA 4.0)

“Global problems require global solutions,” Miltos Ladikas is convinced. In his opinion, the attempt to solve urgent challenges and reach the United Nations sustainability goals is also closely linked to science and technology. According to the ITAS researcher, technology assessment (TA) could be an important tool here to anticipate the economic, social, and environmental impacts and adopt the right development paths.

The scientist holding a doctorate in social psychology outlined his idea of how this contribution could look in detail at the United Nations Headquarters in Geneva at the invitation of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).

Global initiative for good TA practice

As a problem-oriented approach for the assessment of new technologies and the strategic course of research policy, TA could develop constructive and sustainable options for society and politics, Ladikas explained in his talk. In this way, TA could help to shape the often fundamental impacts of scientific and technological developments in the interest of the people.

However, so far technology assessment is too strongly aligned to the socio-economic conditions of developed societies in Europe. On this account, leading TA institutions from Germany, Austria, and the Netherlands have recently launched a global initiative to reach an international consensus on the basic elements of good TA practice and provide the basis for a joint analysis of key technologies. The initiative cooperates with partners in, e.g., Australia, China, India, South Korea, Russia, Brazil, and the US.

Resolution encourages governments to use TA processes

As a result of the conference, the United Nations Economic and Social Council included “technology assessment” in its current resolution on science, technology, and innovation for development. The paper appeals to governments worldwide to use TA to create a common understanding of all societal actors of the impacts of a rapid technological change. (03.06.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Globale TA auf Tagesordnung der UN

Wie kann Technikfolgenabschätzung helfen, die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen zu erreichen? Bei der UN-Konferenz für Handel und Entwicklung (UNCTAD) berichtete Miltos Ladikas vom ITAS über das Ziel, ein weltweites TA-Netzwerk aufzubauen.
ITAS-Wissenschaftler Miltos Ladikas
ITAS-Wissenschaftler Miltos Ladikas (Quelle: ITAS / Archiv)
UNCTAD Logo
(Quelle: UNCTAD CC BY-SA 4.0)

„Globale Probleme erfordern globale Antworten“, ist Miltos Ladikas überzeugt. Der Versuch, drängende Herausforderungen zu lösen und die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen zu erreichen, sei zudem eng mit Wissenschaft und Technik verbunden. Die Technikfolgenabschätzung (TA) könne hier ein wichtiges Werkzeug sein, um die ökonomischen, sozialen und ökologischen Wirkungen zu antizipieren und richtige Entwicklungswege einzuschlagen, so der ITAS-Wissenschaftler.

Wie dieser Beitrag im Detail aussehen könnte, skizzierte der promovierte Sozialpsychologe am 14. Mai 2019 auf Einladung der Konferenz der Vereinten Nationen für Handel und Entwicklung (UNCTAD) am Sitz der Vereinten Nationen in Genf.

Globale Initiative für gute TA-Praxis

Als problemorientierter Ansatz zur Bewertung neuer Technologien und forschungspolitischer Weichenstellungen könne TA zielführende und nachhaltige Optionen für Gesellschaft und Politik entwickeln, so Miltos Ladikas in seinem Vortrag. TA könne so dabei helfen, die oft fundamentalen Folgen von wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Entwicklungen im Sinne der Menschen zu gestalten.

Noch sei die Technikfolgenabschätzung jedoch zu stark auf die sozio-ökonomischen Bedingungen entwickelter Gesellschaften in Europa zugeschnitten. Aus diesem Grund haben jüngst TA-Institutionen aus Deutschland, Österreich und den Niederlanden eine globale Initiative gestartet. Ihr Ziel ist es, einen internationalen Konsens über grundlegende Elemente einer guten TA-Praxis zu erreichen und so die Basis für die gemeinsame Analyse von Schlüsseltechnologien zu schaffen. Partner der Initiative kommen beispielsweise aus Australien, China, Indien, Südkorea, Russland, Brasilien und den USA.

Resolution ermutigt Regierungen zu TA-Prozessen

Als Ergebnis der Konferenz hat der Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat der Vereinten Nationen die „Technikfolgenabschätzung“ in seine aktuelle Resolution zu Science, technology and innovation for development aufgenommen. Das Papier ruft Regierungen weltweit dazu auf, mithilfe von TA ein gemeinsames Verständnis aller gesellschaftlichen Akteure von den Folgen eines schnellen technologischen Wandels herzustellen. (03.06.2019)

Weiterführende Informationen: