Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

“Precise” medicine with side effects

The combination of artificial intelligence, modern human genomics, and genome editing could enable new therapies for diseases, but also non-medical “genetic improvements”. ITAS analyzes the consequences and develops options for action.
DNA Doppelhelix
Treating diseases, “improving” genetic material: Researchers at ITAS are investigating the possible contribution of AI and the ethical questions that arise. (Picture: Pixabay)

The use of advanced forms of machine learning promises major advances in research on the human genome. “In particular, so-called deep learning could make it possible not only to ‘read’ our genetic material, as up to now, but to understand the complex biophysical relationships and mechanisms that cause physical properties to emerge from genetic predisposition,” says Harald König, leader of the new project “Deepen Genomics” at ITAS.

New forms of therapy and ethical challenges

The research team, which, besides ITAS, includes the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI, aims to analyze potential applications that could be developed by combining artificial intelligence (AI) with genome analysis techniques and automated laboratory platforms. For example, there is widespread hope of being able to treat cancer, cardiovascular diseases, or dementia more effectively by tailored “precision medicine”approaches.

At the same time, the project focuses on the many societal and political implications, for example, with regard to issues of research funding or the accessibility of new therapies to patients. The researchers will also examine ethical questions. For example, the trend might be to prevent common diseases such as breast cancer or diabetes by “preventive correction” of risk genes in the germ line of human embryos. “In the extreme case,” explains Harald König, “this could lead to a growing acceptance of ‘improving’ the human genome through non-medical intervention.”

Options for policy makers

Based on their technology assessment, the researchers seek to develop options for research and innovation policy and open up new paths to responsible use of this AI- and genomics-driven technology.

The project “Deepen Genomics – Opportunities and challenges of the convergence of artificial intelligence, human genomics, and genome editing” is part of the Innovation and Technology Analysis (ITA) of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). (20.02.2019)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

„Präzise“ Medizin mit Nebenwirkungen

Die Verbindung von Künstlicher Intelligenz, moderner Humangenomik und Genom-Editierung könnte neue Therapien für Krankheiten ebenso ermöglichen wie nichtmedizinische „Erbgut-Verbesserungen“. Das ITAS analysiert die Folgen und entwirft Handlungsoptionen.
DNA Doppelhelix
Krankheiten behandeln, das Erbgut „verbessern“: Was KI hier beitragen kann und welche ethischen Fragen das aufwirft, untersuchen Forschende des ITAS. (Abbildung: Pixabay)

Der Einsatz fortgeschrittener Formen maschinellen Lernens verspricht große Fortschritte für die Forschung am menschlichen Genom. „Insbesondere das sogenannte Deep Learning könnte es ermöglichen, unser Erbgut nicht nur wie bisher zu ‚lesen‘, sondern die komplexen biophysikalischen Zusammenhänge und Mechanismen zu verstehen, die dafür sorgen, aus genetischen Anlagen körperliche Merkmale hervorzubringen“, so Harald König, der am ITAS das neue Projekt „Deepen Genomics“ leitet.

Neue Therapieformen und ethische Herausforderungen

Das Forschungsteam, an dem neben dem ITAS auch das Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI beteiligt ist, will analysieren, welche Anwendungen entstehen könnten, wenn Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) mit Techniken der Genomanalyse und automatisierten Laborplattformen kombiniert werden. Weit verbreitet ist beispielsweise die Hoffnung, mit einer maßgeschneiderten „precision medicine“ Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen oder Demenz effektiver behandeln zu können.

Gleichzeitig liegt der Fokus des Projekts auf den vielfältigen gesellschaftlichen und politischen Implikationen etwa im Hinblick auf Fragen nach der Finanzierung von Forschung oder der Zugänglichkeit neuer Therapien für Patienten. Auch ethische Fragen wollen die Forschenden prüfen. Denkbar wäre zum Beispiel ein Trend dazu, häufige Leiden wie Brustkrebs oder Diabetes durch eine „präventive Korrektur“ von Risikogenen in der Keimbahn menschlicher Embryonen zu verhindern. „Im Extremfall“, erklärt Harald König, „könnte es eine wachsende Akzeptanz dafür geben, das menschliche Genom mit nichtmedizinischen Eingriffen zu ‚verbessern‘“.

Optionen für politische Entscheidungsträger

Aufbauend auf ihrer Technikfolgenabschätzung wollen die Forschenden Optionen für die Forschungs- und Innovationspolitik erarbeiten sowie Wege für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit dieser durch KI und Genomik getriebenen Technologie eröffnen.

Das Projekt „Deepen Genomics – Chancen und Herausforderungen der Konvergenz von künstlicher Intelligenz, moderner Humangenomik und Genom-Editierung” ist Teil der Innovations- und Technikanalyse (ITA) des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). (20.02.2019)

Weiterführende Informationen