Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Well meant, but also well done?

Scientists at ITAS have assessed the sustainability of the German energy transition. Their result: Nearly half of the indicators examined require rapid measures in order to achieve the sustainability goals.
Rote Ampel für Indikatoren zur Energiewende
Red light for the energy transition: For half of the 45 indicators examined, researchers at ITAS noted the need for rapid action. (Source: Ramdlon / pixabay)
• Publikation Indicator-based Sustainability Assessment of the German Energy System and its Transition
Publication on the integrative assessment of the German energy transition (Source: KIT Publishing)

The share of renewable energy is steadily increasing, but the reduction of energy consumption in the heating sector and in the transport sector is not keeping pace with the goals set. The Federal Government has already revised the greenhouse gas reduction targets for the year 2020. In addition, citizens’ acceptance of wind turbines, biogas plants, and open-space photovoltaics in their neighborhood is declining in some places. Are these indications of an ill-conceived energy transition?

“Red light”, among others, for dependence on energy imports

In the ENERGY-TRANS project, ITAS researchers have used 45 indicators to assess whether the existing framework conditions and policies are adequate to meet the sustainability goals for 2020 and 2050. In the assessment, they assumed a linear development of the trend over the past five years until 2020. The obtained values were then evaluated on the basis of political or scientific sustainability goals using a traffic light color code.

18 indicators were given a red, four a yellow light. This means, according to the researchers, that the goals of the energy transition cannot be achieved without rapidly changing strategies and measures. This applies, among other things, to the acceptance of the expansion of renewable energies in the neighborhood, the dependence on energy imports, the number of employees in the field of renewable energies, or the cultivation of energy crops.

Integrative assessment approach

In order to identify the opportunities and challenges of the energy transition and to comprehensively assess the impact of policies such as the coal phase-out or the mobility transition, the researchers developed an integrative assessment approach. It also allows for the systematic analysis of dependencies and goal conflicts between sustainability aspects and indicators. For example, in the Energy Transition Navigation System – ENavi project, the assessment approach is used as a tool to develop political strategies for a successful energy transition. (26.11.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Gut gemeint, aber auch gut gemacht?

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des ITAS haben die Nachhaltigkeit der deutschen Energiewende bewertet. Ihr Ergebnis: Bei knapp der Hälfte der untersuchten Indikatoren sind rasche Maßnahmen notwendig, um die Nachhaltigkeitsziele noch zu erreichen.
Rote Ampel für Indikatoren zur Energiewende
Rotes Licht für die Energiewende: Bei der Hälfte von 45 untersuchten Indikatoren stellten Forschende des ITAS raschen Handlungsbedarf fest. (Quelle: pixabay)
• Publikation Indicator-based Sustainability Assessment of the German Energy System and its Transition
Publikation zur integrativen Bewertung der deutschen Energiewende (Quelle: KIT Publishing)

Der Anteil erneuerbarer Energie nimmt stetig zu, doch die Senkung des Energieverbrauchs im Wärmebereich sowie im Verkehrssektor halten nicht Schritt, um die gesetzten Ziele zu erreichen. Die Bundesregierung hat die anvisierte Treibhausgasreduktion für das Jahr 2020 bereits revidiert. Zudem sinkt mancherorts die Akzeptanz der Bürgerinnen und Bürger für Windräder, Biogasanlagen und Freiflächenphotovoltaik in ihrer Nachbarschaft. Sind dies Indizien für eine fehlerhaft konzipierte Energiewende?

„Rote Ampel“ u.a. für Abhängigkeit von Energieimporten

Im Projekt ENERGY-TRANS haben Forschende des ITAS anhand von 45 Indikatoren bewertet, ob mit den bestehenden Rahmenbedingungen und politischen Maßnahmen die Nachhaltigkeitsziele für 2020 und 2050 erreicht werden können. Für die Bewertung unterstellten sie eine lineare Entwicklung des Trends der vergangenen fünf Jahre bis 2020. Die ermittelten Werte bewerteten sie dann anhand politischer oder wissenschaftlicher Nachhaltigkeitsziele mit einem Ampelfarbcode.

18 Indikatoren erhielten eine rote, vier eine gelbe Ampel. Dies bedeutet, so das Fazit der Forschenden, dass die Ziele der Energiewende ohne rasche Änderung von Strategien und Maßnahmen nicht erreicht werden. Dies betrifft unter anderem die Akzeptanz für den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien in der Nachbarschaft, die Abhängigkeit von Energieimporten, die Anzahl von Beschäftigten im Bereich erneuerbarer Energien oder den Anbau von Energiepflanzen.

Integrativer Bewertungsansatz

Um die Chancen und Herausforderungen der Energiewende zu identifizieren und die Wirkung von Politikmaßnahmen wie beispielsweise der Kohleausstieg oder die Mobilitätswende umfassend zu bewerten, entwickelten die Forschenden einen integrative Bewertungsansatz. Er ermöglich auch die systematische Analyse von Abhängigkeiten und Zielkonflikten zwischen Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten und Indikatoren. So wird der Bewertungsansatz etwa im Projekt Energiewende-Navigationssystem – ENavi als Instrumentarium zur Entwicklung politischer Strategien für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende verwendet. (26.11.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: