Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ITAS welcomes guest researcher from the U.S.

Erik Fisher is dedicated to improve the social dimensions of science and technology. The professor from the Arizona State University (ASU) visits Karlsruhe to strengthen ties between TA and his Socio-Technical Integration Research (STIR) approach.
Erik Fisher
Erik Fisher

The associate professor from ASU´s School for the Future of Innovation in Society is spending the fall 2018 semester in Karlsruhe. At ITAS, which he visited first in 2007, Erik Fisher is leading a series of introductory workshops on the Socio-Technical Integration Research (STIR) approach. STIR promotes intervention-oriented research in order to exercise, build, and assess capacities for reflexivity and responsiveness among scientists, engineers, and other technical experts.

By collaborating on several projects and participating in various workshops – one organized by the head of ITAS Armin Grunwald on the Theory of TA and another organized by Alexandra Hausstein (ITZ) on Socio-Technical Integration – Fisher wants to develop the conceptual and practical relationships between TA, STIR and Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI). Therefore, he will also give a keynote lecture at the eighth international conference of the Network TA (NTA) taking place in Karlsruhe in November.

At Arizona State University Fisher directs the STIR Cities project, which studies and compares diverse organizations in Phoenix, Arizona and Portland, Oregon working on smart grid technologies. Supported by a National Science Foundation grant, the project develops the notion of local and regional sociotechnical imaginaries and brings social science engagement out of the laboratory and into the (smart) city. Fisher is editor-in-chief of the Journal of Responsible Innovation. Formerly, he served as director of the STIR project and of a PhD program in Human and Social Dimensions of Science and Technology, as well as associate director of the Center for Nanotechnology in Society at ASU. (26.10.2018)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

ITAS begrüßt Gastforscher aus den USA

Erik Fisher befasst sich mit den sozialen Dimensionen von Wissenschaft und Technologie. Der Professor der Arizona State University (ASU) kommt nach Karlsruhe, um die Verbindungen zwischen TA und seinem Forschungsansatz zu fördern.
Erik Fisher
Erik Fisher

Der Associate Professor an der School for the Future of Innovation in Society, ASU, verbringt das Wintersemester 2018 in Karlsruhe. Am ITAS, das er 2007 erstmals besuchte, leitet Erik Fisher eine Reihe von Einführungsworkshops zum Forschungsansatz der soziotechnischen Integration (STIR). STIR fördert interventionsorientierte Forschung, um die Fähigkeiten zur Reflexivität und Responsivität unter Wissenschaftlern, Ingenieuren und anderen Experten zu trainieren, zu erweitern und zu beurteilen.

Durch die Mitarbeit an mehreren Projekten und die Teilnahme an verschiedenen Workshops – einer organisiert vom Leiter des ITAS, Armin Grunwald, zur Theorie der TA und ein weiterer von Alexandra Hausstein (ITZ) zur soziotechnischen Integration – will Fisher die konzeptionellen und praktischen Verbindungen zwischen TA, STIR und verantwortungsvoller Forschung und Innovation (RRI) weiterentwickeln. Zudem wird er im Rahmen der achten internationalen Konferenz des Netzwerks TA (NTA), die im November in Karlsruhe stattfindet, einen Vortrag zu diesem Thema halten.

An der Arizona State University leitet Fisher das Projekt STIR Cities, das verschiedene Organisationen in Phoenix, Arizona und Portland, Oregon, die an Smart-Grid-Technologien arbeiten, untersucht und miteinander vergleicht. Das von der National Science Foundation geförderte Projekt zielt darauf ab, den Begriff der lokalen und regionalen soziotechnischen Imaginationen zu entwickeln und das sozialwissenschaftliche Engagement aus dem Labor in die (intelligente) Stadt zu bringen. Fisher ist Chefredakteur des Journal of Responsible Innovation. Zuvor war er Leiter des STIR-Projekts und eines Doktorandenprogramms im Bereich menschliche und soziale Dimensionen von Wissenschaft und Technologie sowie stellvertretender Leiter des Center for Nanotechnology in Society an der ASU. (26.10.2018)

Weiterführende Informationen: