Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

You can buy sustainability ... can’t you?

On Thursday, 23 June 2016, at 6 p.m. the next session of the ITAS series of events "technik.kontrovers" will take place. The evening event will focus on the question of responsibility for sustainable economic behavior.
"Stray shopping cart" by Holger Prothmann (Source: flickr.com CC BY-NC 2.0)
"Stray shopping cart" by Holger Prothmann (Source: flickr.com CC BY-NC 2.0)

Politics are supposed to regulate, manufacturers to produce in a resource-efficient way, and consumers to be conscious buyers. But how much responsibility does each of us bear? Should we be more conscious consumers or increase the pressure on policy makers? And how promising is the certification of products with sustainability labels or the renunciation of the objectives of economic growth?

These questions will be discussed by ITAS scientists Jürgen Kopfmüller and Richard Beecroft with the head of the institute Armin Grunwald and the participants of the thematic evening "You can buy sustainability ... can’t you?" on 23 June 2016, at 6 p.m. in the foyer of the institute (Karlstraße 11). To get started, the scientists will briefly describe three possible points of view in the discussion.

Position 1: Pressure on policy makers

Consumers cause damage to the environment and should therefore consume in a more sustainable way. This is not wrong, but at most only half the truth. Sustainability is related to the question how we want to live – as a society and within our environment. This is not a personal matter and cannot be imposed on consumers. The political level has to be responsible for the implementation of sustainability-friendly framework conditions. Therefore citizens are called on to put pressure on politicians.

Position 2: Market-related perspective

The objective of sustainable consumption is not only relevant for consumers, but also for politics and producers as manufacturers of the consumed goods. So producers have to question typical goal-oriented aspects like maximization of profit, return on investment, or market share. Consumers are asked to look beyond the pure satisfaction of their own individual needs and politics have to set the framework conditions for responsible action.

Position 3: Culture of sustainability

All of this is likely to have no effect if humans are only involved as voters or consumers, but not as individuals: It is about reforming our economic behavior, which has to be based on a "culture of sustainability". Latest developments like the sharing economy, the growing number of repair cafés, and the economy of the common good movement are encouraging signs for the growing social dynamics of sustainable development. (16.06.2016)

Further information:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Nachhaltigkeit ist käuflich... oder?

Am Donnerstag, 23. Juni 2016, um 18 Uhr lädt das ITAS zum nächsten Termin seiner Veranstaltungsreihe „technik.kontrovers“. Im Mittelpunkt des Themenabends steht die Frage nach der Verantwortung für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaftsweise.
„Stray shopping cart“ von Holger Prothmann (Quelle: flickr.com CC BY-NC 2.0)
„Stray shopping cart“ von Holger Prothmann (Quelle: flickr.com CC BY-NC 2.0)

Die Politik soll regulieren, Hersteller ressourcenschonend produzieren, Konsumenten bewusst kaufen. Doch wie groß ist die Verantwortung des Einzelnen? Sollen wir bewusster konsumieren oder den Druck auf die Politik erhöhen? Und wie aussichtsreich ist die Zertifizierung von Produkten mit Nachhaltigkeitslabels oder die Abkehr von den Zielen ökonomischen Wachstums?

Diese Fragen diskutieren die ITAS-Wissenschaftler Jürgen Kopfmüller und Richard Beecroft sowie Institutsleiter Armin Grunwald mit den Gästen des Themenabends „Nachhaltigkeit ist käuflich... oder?“ am 23. Juni 2016, ab 18 Uhr im Foyer des Instituts (Karlstraße 11). Zum Einstieg umreißen die Wissenschaftler drei mögliche Positionen in der Debatte.

Position 1: Druck auf die Politik

Konsumenten verursachen Umweltschäden und sollen daher nachhaltiger konsumieren. Das ist nicht falsch, aber bestenfalls die halbe Wahrheit. Nachhaltigkeit betrifft die Frage, wie wir als Gesellschaft und mit der Umwelt leben wollen. Das ist kein privates Thema und darf nicht den Konsumenten aufgebürdet werden. Stattdessen braucht es die politische Ebene zur Durchsetzung nachhaltigkeitsfreundlicher Rahmenbedingungen. Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger sind aufgerufen, entsprechend Druck auf die Politik auszuüben.

Position 2: Marktbezogene Perspektive

Das Ziel eines nachhaltigen Konsums betrifft die Konsumenten gleichermaßen wie die Politik und die Produzenten als Hersteller des Konsumierten. Für Produzenten heißt das, klassische Zielorientierungen wie Gewinn-, Kapitalrendite- oder Marktanteils-Maximierung zu hinterfragen. Konsumenten sind gefordert, sich jenseits purer individueller Bedürfnisbefriedigung zu orientieren und die Rolle der Politik muss es sein, die Rahmenbedingungen für verantwortliches Handeln zu schaffen.

Position 3: Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit

All dies droht aber wirkungslos zu bleiben, wenn Menschen nur als Wähler und Konsumenten, nicht aber als Personen involviert sind: Es geht um den Umbau unserer Wirtschaftsweise, der von einer „Kultur der Nachhaltigkeit“ getragen wird. Neue Entwicklungen wie die Sharing Economy, die steigende Zahl der Repair-Cafés und die Gemeinwohl-Ökonomie-Bewegung machen Mut, dass die nachhaltige Entwicklung an sozialer Dynamik gewinnt. (16.06.2016)

Weiterführende Informationen: