Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ZeitzeicheN Sustainability Award for "District Future" [21.10.2013]

Preisverleihung

The "District Future – Urban Lab" project was granted the 2013 ZeitzeicheN German Local Sustainability Award in the category of "ZeitzeicheN Ideas". The German-wide Network 21 Congress handed over the award to the scientists of the Institute of Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) on October 8th 2013 at the Neues Schloss, Stuttgart. Together with the population, politics, industry, and other actors of urban society, the scientists plan to test and develop concepts for future urban life in the next years. It is their objective to sustainably design an existing district of the city of Karlsruhe.

"We have to learn to analyze integrated relationships and to realize 'holistic' urban development. At the moment, we are far away from this objective, and models and concepts for sustainable urban development are still lacking. The 'District Future – Urban Lab' project starts exactly at this point," said the Baden Württemberg Minister of the Environment, Climate Protection, and the Energy Sector, Franz Untersteller, in his laudation.

"District Future – Urban Lab" will open up in and for Karlsruhe an area, in which promising technical and societal innovations from KIT as well as project ideas of the urban society will be implemented together with the project team in the coming years. The issues covered will range from living and building to mobility and communication to education, health, leisure, and culture. It is aimed at transforming an existing district of the city of Karlsruhe into a sustainable one. The location of the District Future is presently being negotiated. The award in the amount of EUR 2000 plus non-cash items will be used to help the actors start the project on the local level.

The project is executed by the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) and embedded in the Karlsruhe 2020 integrated urban development concept. As of now, all citizens of Karlsruhe, companies, associations, and initiatives are invited to inform themselves on the website of the project and to submit and comment ideas relating to the development of the city and city life.

The ZeitzeicheN Award is granted by the Germany-wide Network 21 for local sustainability to initiatives that noticed the signs of the times, build bridges to society, and initiate sustainable acting. This year, awards were granted to seven projects from all over Germany. They were handed over at the Network 21 congress organized by GRÜNE LIGA Berlin in cooperation with the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of the Environment, Climate, and the Energy Sector in Stuttgart. Funding is provided by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety, the Federal Environment Agency, the Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Council), the German Association of Cities, the German Association of Districts, and the Deutscher Städte- und Gemeindebund (Association of German Cities and Municipalities).

Related links:

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Nachhaltigkeitspreis ZeitzeicheN für "Quartier Zukunft" [21.10.2013]

Preisverleihung

Das Projekt „Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ hat den Deutschen Lokalen Nachhaltigkeitspreis ZeitzeicheN 2013 in der Kategorie „ZeitzeicheN-Ideen“ erhalten. Das deutschlandweite Netzwerk21 zeichnete die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) am 08.10.2013 im Neuen Schloss in Stuttgart aus. Gemeinsam mit Bevölkerung, Politik, Wirtschaft und weiteren Akteuren der Stadtgesellschaft wollen sie in den nächsten Jahren Konzepte für das Stadtleben der Zukunft erproben und entwickeln. Ziel ist es, ein bestehendes Karlsruher Stadtquartier nachhaltig zu gestalten.

„Wir müssen lernen, die Gesamtzusammenhänge in den Blick zu nehmen und eine Stadtentwicklung ‚aus einem Guss‘ zu realisieren. Davon sind wir weit entfernt und es fehlen uns auch noch die Vorbilder und Konzepte für die nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung. Das Projekt Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt setzt genau hier an“, sagte der Minister für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg Franz Untersteller in seiner Laudatio.

„Quartier Zukunft – Labor Stadt“ eröffnet in und für Karlsruhe einen Raum, in dem in den kommenden Jahren Erfolg versprechende technische und gesellschaftliche Innovationen aus dem KIT sowie Projektideen aus der Stadtgesellschaft gemeinsam mit dem Projektteam verwirklicht werden. Dabei reichen die Themen von Wohnen und Bauen über Mobilität und Kommunikation bis hin zu Bildung, Gesundheit, Freizeit und Kultur. Ziel ist es, ein bestehendes Stadtquartier in ein nachhaltiges umzuwandeln. Der Ort für das Quartier Zukunft befindet sich aktuell im Aushandlungsprozess. Die mit 2000 Euro und Sachpreisen dotierte Auszeichnung dient dazu, den Akteuren auf lokaler Ebene eine Starthilfe für die Umsetzung zu geben.

Das Projekt ist am Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) angesiedelt und im integrierten Stadtentwicklungskonzept Karlsruhe 2020 verankert. Auf der neuen Website zum Projekt können sich alle Karlsruher Bürgerinnen und Bürger, Unternehmen, Vereine und Initiativen informieren und Ideen zur Entwicklung der Stadt und des Stadtlebens äußern und kommentieren.

Mit dem ZeitzeicheN-Preis zeichnet das deutschlandweite Netzwerk21 für lokale Nachhaltigkeit Initiativen aus, welche die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt haben, Brücken in der Gesellschaft bauen und zum nachhaltigen Handeln anregen. Insgesamt erhielten in diesem Jahr sieben Projekte aus ganz Deutschland Preise. Vergeben wurden sie beim Netzwerk21Kongress, den die GRÜNE LIGA Berlin in Kooperation mit dem Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg in Stuttgart ausrichtete. Förderer sind neben dem Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit sowie dem Umweltbundesamt unter anderem der Rat für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, der Deutsche Städtetag, der Deutsche Landkreistag sowie der Deutsche Städte- und Gemeindebund.

Weitere Links: