Home | deutsch  | Sitemap | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

ITAS-Journal "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" (Technology Assessment - Theory and Practice), issue 2/2003, with the focal theme "Foresight", online available [16.07.2003]

Cover

The focal theme of this issue is devoted to "Foresight".The topic is en vogue at the moment as the annual conferences on foresight attracting hundreds of delegates demonstrate that seem recently to have become a regular feature of European Commission activities. In the introduction to the theme, Michael Rader and Knud Böhle, ITAS, sketch the development of the "Future Studies" wave of the 1970s till today. They argue that Foresight and Technology Assessment have much in common. e.g. the innovation orientation and the inclusion of a broad range of stakeholders, including science, various parts of industry (manufacturing, service providers etc.) , users and other affected parties.

The focal theme itself starts with a contribution by Heiko Prange, Technical University of Munich, who describes and analyses the complex interrelations between responsibilities for technology and innovation policy in Europe. The subsequent five contributions, by Kerstin Cuhls (Fraunhofer ISI), Volkmar Dietz (BMBF), Knud Böhle and Ulrich Riehm (ITAS) as well as by Ian Miles/Michael Keenan (PREST, UK), deal with national Foresight experiences in Germany and the UK. Foresight at the European level is the subject of the articles by Werner Wobbe, a member of the Science and Technology Foresight unit of DG Research of the European Commission, Luk Van Langenhove, the Chairman of the High Level Expert Group (HLEG) on European Foresight of the European Commission, Angela Guimaraes Pereira and Silvio Funtowicz of the Joint Research Centre - IPSC, Ispra, and by Carsten Orwat, ITAS. The articles by Barend van der Meulen, University of Twente (NL), Michael Rader/Knud Böhle (ITAS) as well as by Balint Dömölki/Ferenc Kovats, Hungary, deal specifically with the treatment of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) in broader national Foresight studies.

With the exception of two articles, the entire focal theme is in English. Arrangements for the translation of the two remaining articles into English have already been made.

The section on TA-Institutions is devoted to the closure of the Center of Technology Assessment in Baden-Württemberg and its consequences for the TA landscape in Germany.

TA-Concepts and Methods feature an article by Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem, judge at the German Federal Constitutional Court who argues for a trans- and interdisciplinary dialogue between legal science and technology research. He proposes a reorientation of legal science in the direction of legal science based innovation research geared towards enabling technical, social and cultural innovations while at the same time guaranteeing the protection of affected parties.

The TA Projects section comprises an article on reproductive cloning: The Rathenau Institute, the Dutch parliamentary TA unit in Den Haag, has initiated a fictional lawsuit where the first human clone, aged 20, takes legal action against his parents and the scientists who created him. The other articles in this section deal with social and economic evaluation as an instrument for decision making in land use (University of Merseburg), sustainable development and innovation in the energy sector (European Academy Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler) and the ITAS project on the change of working and living conditions in the multimedia sector from the gender perspective.

Apart from 3Book Reviews and some book presentations in brief, the Conference Reports section is quite substantial: it reports on seven events and the themes range from transport telematics, "ubiquitous computing", scientific expertise and policy consulting to a new paradigm for sustainability research.

In the Discussion Forum, the VDI, the German Association of Engineers, presents the main features of the new concept of "Innovation and Technology Analysis (ITA)" of the BMBF and invites the readers of the journal to send in their comments. The editors of TA-TuP encourages readers to give their opinions and comments on the ITA-concept which we will gladly publish in the journal.

The News from ITAS and TAB contain the usual information on projects, events and publications. One of the main items is the conclusion of the cooperative project of the HGF - Association of German Research Centres on "Global sustainable development - perspective for Germany" which was led by ITAS. The main results of the project were presented at a final conference in Berlin at the end of Mai 2003; a report on this conference is contained in the conference reports section in this issue. The main outlines of the final report of the project are also described in the ITAS News.

To contents of issue 2 / 2003 of "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" here

Home | english  | Sitemap | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Die Zeitschrift "Technikfolgenabschätzung" Nr. 2, 2003, mit dem Schwerpunktthema "Foresight", online verfügbar [16.07.2003]

Cover

Der Schwerpunkt des vorliegenden Heftes befasst sich mit "Foresight". Das Thema ist im Moment en vogue, wie die Jahreskonferenzen der Europäischen Kommission zu Foresight zeigen, die Hunderte von Teilnehmern anzogen. In der Einführung in den Schwerpunkt, von Knud Böhle und Michael Rader, ITAS, wird die Entwicklung von der "Future Studies"-Welle in den 1970er Jahren bis heute aufgezeigt. Sie zeigen auf , dass Foresight und TA viele Gemeinsamkeiten in der Zielsetzung aufweisen, wie z. B. die Innovationsorientierung und die über die Politik hinausgehende Orientierung an einem breiten Spektrum gesellschaftlicher Interessenvertreter aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Nutzern und anderen Betroffenen.

Der Schwerpunkt beginnt mit einem Beitrag von Heiko Prange, Technische Universität München, der die Handlungsspielräume der Technologie- und Innovationspolitik in Europa als Mehrebenensystem darstellt und analysiert. Die folgenden fünf Beiträge von Kerstin Cuhls (Fraunhofer ISI, Karlsruhe), Volkmar Dietz (BMBF, Bonn), Knud Böhle, Ulrich Riehm (beide ITAS) sowie Ian Miles/Michael Keenan (PREST, UK). befassen sich mit nationalen Foresight-Erfahrungen in Deutschland und Großbritannien. In den Beiträgen von Werner Wobbe, Mitglied des Science and Technology Foresight Unit der DG Forschung der Europäischen Kommission, Luk Van Langenhove, Vorsitzender der High Level Expert Group (HLEG) zu Foresight der Europäischen Kommission, Angela Guimaraes Pereira und Silvio Funtowicz vom Joint Research Centre - IPSC, Ispra, sowie Carsten Orwat (ITAS) wird Foresight auf der europäischen Ebene thematisiert. Schließlich gehen die Beiträge von Barend van der Meulen, Universität Twente (NL), Michael Rader und Knud Böhle (ITAS) sowie Balint Dömölki und Ferenc Kovats, Ungarn, speziell auf die Behandlung von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien im Rahmen von Foresight-Studien ein.

Die im November 2002 beschlossene Schließung der Akademie für Technikfolgenabschätzung in Baden-Württemberg und die Konsequenzen für die TA-Landschaft in Deutschland ist Thema unserer Rubrik zu "TA-Institutionen und -programme".

Die Rubrik "TA-Konzepte und -Methoden" enthält einen längeren Beitrag von Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem, Richter des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, in dem er unter dem Titel "Rechtswissenschaftliche Innovationsforschung" ein "Plädoyer für einen trans- und interdisziplinären Dialog zwischen Rechts- und Technikwissenschaft" hält. Er fordert eine teilweise Neubestimmung der Rechtswissenschaft in Richtung auf eine "rechtswissenschaftliche Innovationsforschung", die auf die Ermöglichung technischer, sozialer und kultureller Innovationen durch Recht zielt, ohne den zugleich gebotenen Schutz für nachteilig betroffene Rechtsgüter zu verweigern.

Im Teil zu den TA-Projekten befasst sich ein Beitrag mit reproduktivem Clonieren: das Rathenau Institut, das holländische parlamentarische TA-Büro in Den Haag, hat einen fiktionalen Gerichtsprozess initiiert, bei dem der erste menschliche Clon im Alter von 20 Jahren gegen seine Eltern und die Wissenschaftler klagt, die ihn geschaffen haben. Die weiteren Beiträge befassen sich mit einem Projekt der Fachhochschule Merseburg zur sozialen und ökonomischen Bewertung als Instrument bei der Entscheidungsunterstützung in der Landnutzung, einem Projekt der Europäischen Akademie Bad-Neuenahr-Ahrweiler zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung und Innovation im Energiebereich sowie dem ITAS-Projekt zum Wandel der Arbeits- und Lebensbedingungen im Multimediabereich aus der Genderperspektive.

Neben drei Rezensionen und einigen Kurzvorstellungen von Büchern nehmen die Tagungsberichte einen großen Raum ein: insgesamt wird über sieben Tagungen berichtet, wobei die Themen von der Verkehrstelematik, "ubiquitous computing", wissenschaftliche Expertise und Politikberatung bis zu einem neuen Paradigma in der Nachhaltigkeitsforschung reichen.

Im Diskussionsforum stellt der VDI das vom BMBF entwickelte Konzept der "Innovations- und Technikanalyse (ITA)" zur Diskussion. Auch die Herausgeber der TATuP möchten zu einer regen Beteiligung an dieser Diskussion ermuntern und bitten um Einsendung von Stellungnahmen und Kommentaren, die wir gerne in der Zeitschrift abdrucken werden.

Die ITAS- und dieTAB-News berichten wie immer über aktuelle Projekte, Tagungen und Veröffentlichungen. Hervorzuheben ist der Abschluss des Verbund-Projektes "Global zukunftsfähige Entwicklung - Perspektiven für Deutschland" der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft deutscher Forschungszentren (HGF), für das ITAS die Federführung hatte. Die wesentlichen Ergebnisse des Projektes wurde auf einer Abschlusstagung in Berlin Ende Mai vorgestellt (ein Bericht darüber ist in der Rubrik Tagungsberichte enthalten). Der umfangreiche Abschussbericht des Projektes wird in den ITAS-News vorgestellt.

Weiterführende Links:

  • Zum Inhaltsverzeichnis des Heftes 2, 2003 von "Technikfolgenabschätzung - Theorie und Praxis" hier